Friday, 29 November 2013

Naturalmente yogurt and millet conditioner & rosemary and lavender shampoo



It's easy to take your luscious locks for granted and only really notice them when they don't do what you want. I often find myself complaining about a bad hair day when it's just too frizzy that no matter how much product I put in it in the morning, it simply won't stay in place. What we usually forget though is that it isn't just a good hair cut or a lot of styling products that can make or break a look, it's also how you take care of your locks on an every day basis.

Humid weather, exposure to a lot of sunshine, intense cold, pollution, styling products and even stress can have a negative effect on your scalp and hair from the roots to the very tips. It's important to nourish your hair so it stays healthy, strong and properly protected from all these elements.

Naturalmente is inspired by the healing powers of aromatherapy with its main ingredients derived from certified organic botanicals. The bio dynamic haircare brand originates from the heart of the Tuscany Hills and its products are petrochemical-free and created from plant-based formulations. For this review I put the rosemary and lavender shampoo as well as the yogurt and millet conditioner to the test, to see if the products really do help nourish hair and scalp in the testing weather conditions that accompany the change of seasons.

The rosemary and lavender shampoo has purifying and detoxifying qualities which helps restore the hair to its natural state. The essential oils of rosemary, lavender, eucalyptus and sandal, cleanse and restore the delicate acid mantle of the scalp. After using the shampoo with its refreshingly different scent my hair felt extremely clean and so it certainly achieved what it set out to do. I did find it difficult to apply it to my long hair as the product doesn't lather and so I struggled spreading it out over a large area, but it certainly was worth the effort in the end.

Important to note is that you shouldn't use this shampoo on two consecutive washes. The first wash has already stripped the hair of unwanted elements left behind by styling products and pollution and so using it again would risk getting rid of the hair's natural protective oils as well.

The yogurt and millet conditioner aims to restore dry, damaged and dull hair. Essential oils of mint, lemon and eucalyptus combined with the yogurt proteins revitalise and intensively nourish the hair and enhance its natural shine. I usually condition my hair after shampooing it, but the products I've used in the past pale in comparison to this one. It started as soon as I opened the bottle as I fell in love with the conditioner's amazingly enticing scent and I really had to force myself to not lick my fingers while I was using it.

It was easy to apply, smooth to the touch and massaging the product into my hair and scalp I felt like I was treating myself to a luxurious mask. After washing it out of my long locks they instantly felt thick, healthy and very soft. In fact, while I am used to brushing out my hair after washing it this wasn't necessary after using the conditioner as there were no tangles left at all. And when my hair had dried completely it felt smooth and silky, a pleasant sensation which lasted for several days after use.

Thursday, 28 November 2013

Book review: Pivot Point by Kasie West


My edition: Hardcover, to published on 16th January 2014 in the UK by HarperCollins 360 in paperback and ebook, 343 pages.

Description: Addison Coleman's life is one big "What if?" As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It's the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie's parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the "Norms", or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it's not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback's girlfriend. When Addie's father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she's unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear.

With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she's willing to live through... and who she can't live without.


Rating:

Tuesday, 26 November 2013

High Chai afternoon tea at Cinnamon Soho



Cinnamon Soho is the third modern Indian restaurant from Vivek Singh of The Cinnamon Club and Cinnamon Kitchen. The establishment is just a stone's throw from the cobbles of Carnaby Street in London and besides lunch, dinner and takeaway it now also offers afternoon tea... with a twist.

Most people will associate the quintessentially British meal with delicate and creamy cucumber finger sandwiches, large hot scones generously topped with Devonshire clotted cream and home made jam, and an array of finger-licking cakes and pastries. I admit that that was my first thought too, so when I heard about the Indian afternoon tea I initially felt sceptical about the concept.

I needn't have worried as High Chai offers an inspiring and delicious combination of flavours that had both my guest and myself oh-ing and ah-ing all throughout the meal.


To accompany the sweet and savoury treats on offer we opted for two very different teas, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. Whereas I chose Indian Masala Chai, which is freshly brewed in-house using ginger and cardamon, my friend ordered the delicate silver needle. I particularly loved how well my choice complemented the spicy flavours of the rest of the meal.

As the tea was served we were presented with three plates of enticing canapes and we started with the inviting Bombay potato bonda and green chutney. It was made up of a beautiful combination of flavours and we loved it so much that we put half of the little ball of delight to the side of our plates to save for later. But when the same happened with the Bangla Scotch egg and spicy kasundi relish, which had a funky pinkish colour on the inside and managed to make us actually like Scotch eggs, and the tandoori chicken and chutney sandwich, we realised that there was no point in saving half of the delights as they were all incredibly appetising.

At this stage we decided to mix things up a little bit and move on to the sweets on the plate. The ginger and garam masala cake was not as spicy as we initially feared and its scrumptiously gooey texture and sugary sweet aftertaste went really well with small sips of my Indian Masala Chai. The scones were tiny, much smaller than the regular British ones, but perfectly sized for us as at this point in the meal as we started to feel quite satisfied. The scone itself was lightly spiced and worked really well with the apple and fennel chutney, which is a combination I had not tried before but I can definitely be tempted by again.

Finally we sampled the Bhangra lamb slider, which had been the part of the afternoon tea I'd been looking forward to the most and it didn't disappoint. The meat was juicy and plenty and combined with the spices, relish and the sweetness of the brioche bun it was a perfect finish to an already lush meal.


I love afternoon tea and have visited a wide selection in the past as it's always the go-to meal when I have friends and family visiting. And despite having sampled the meal at posh restaurants and high-end hotels, the excellently executed version at Cinnamon Soho is one of my favourites yet. The savoury and sweet treats on offer are delicious, diverse and plenty, and we thoroughly enjoyed sampling them all.

The Indian twist makes it especially great for those who have grown a bit bored of cucumber sandwiches and scones with clotted cream, and its close vicinity to the bustling streets of Regent Street and Oxford Circus makes this a great location to take a well-earned break after a long and tiring day of (Christmas) shopping.

The High Chai is not only very tasty but at £20 for two people it's also great value. And for an extra £5 per person you can start your afternoon tea with a Cinnamon Bellini cocktail, made with Prosecco and a home-made cinnamon syrup which is infused with Earl Grey. Prosecco is already an alcoholic drink I am very fond of and the enticing cinnamon twist suited both the cocktail and the overall theme of the afternoon tea very well.

Cinnamon Soho, 5 Kingly St, London W1B 5PF.

Sunday, 24 November 2013

Sunday post #16


Sunday is when I sit back with a lovely cup of tea and write about all the wonderful new books I've received and purchased in the past week. This post participates in fab memes Showcase Sunday and Stacking the Shelves.


A Cinderella Christmas by Holly Kingston - ebook (review copy)
A Merry Little Christmas by Julia Williams (bought)
Christmas at Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop by Jenny Colgan (review copy)
Fractured by Dani Atkins (review copy)
It's Now or Never by Carole Matthews (bought)
Make My Wish Come True by Fiona Harper (review copy)
The Magic of Christmas by Trisha Ashley (bought)
Welcome to My World by Miranda Dickinson (bought)



There is such a festive theme running through my books this week, I love it! I've been waiting on Christmas at Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop for a while now and unfortunately I have a few review books on the go at the moment that I have to finish first, but I'm very excited to start reading it. I'm also really looking forward to Fractured which sounds like a poignant read and has received fantastic reviews in the blogosphere so far.

I'm part of the blog tour for Novelicious' e-novella A Cinderella Christmas so while I've already read the book (spoiler alert: it's very cute!) I won't be posting about it until mid-December. I've just started Make My Wish Come True, so a review for that should be up next week :)

And while I've completely run out of shelf space and promised myself that I wouldn't buy any more books for a while... when I walked past a charity shop yesterday, Welcome to My World caught my eye in the window and it was screaming "BUY ME!" Of course I has to oblige and when I had a look inside the shop I found a few more books from authors I love, plus one I'm unfamiliar with (Julia Williams) but has a super cute seasonal cover so I had to pick those up to.

Since I got my Kindle last week I've also gone a bit crazy with buying heaps of free and 99p ebooks from Amazon, though there are too many to mention them all above. I am nicely stocking up for my Christmas break though.

I hope all of you have read and received some wonderful new books in the past week as well! x

Friday, 22 November 2013

Book review: Not Without You by Harriet Evans


My edition: Paperback, published on 7 November 2013 by HarperCollins, 464 pages.

Description: Sophie knows she should count herself lucky. She grew up in modest surroundings but suddenly finds herself catapulted into the A-list after the surprise hit of a budget movie. But surrounded by botoxed assistants, lecherous old directors and a star-struck mother, Sophie just wishes she could be a proper actress, in proper, serious films. And at the tender age of thirty, she already worries she's past her 'prime'.

As Sophie's career begins to decline – slowly and painfully at first, and then all at once – her fate seems to be entwined with that of her favourite actress, Eve Noel. The epitome of 50s Hollywood glamour, Eve suddenly disappeared from the spotlight. No-one knows why. As Sophie receives threatening letters, it seems that the dark secrets in Eve's past are beginning to haunt Sophie, too... With a new film about Shakespeare burying Sophie deep in the English countryside, suddenly Eve herself is close at hand.

Rating:

Wednesday, 20 November 2013

Niki's Organic Balms



In the past week I've noticed that my usually already dry skin has been very affected by the changing weather and it has become tighter and itchier than ever before. Even moisturising twice a day (once in the morning, once in the evening) with the body creams I normally use doesn't seem sufficient anymore. It's very frustrating not being able to find a proper relief for my skin, so I jumped at the opportunity to put some new products to the test.

Niki's Organic Balms is a collection of balms designed to soothe, relax and moisturise. The range features five balms - Original, Lavender and Chamomile, Warming, Rose and Baby Bottom - which are infused with natural ingredients, including cinnamon, sandalwood and rosemary essential oils. The products are all handmade in the UK and do not contain petroleum, parabens or anything else that you really wouldn't want on your skin.

The Original Balm is very zesty and the strong lemony scent is one that stays on the skin long after the balm itself has been absorbed. It worked well as a moisturiser on areas of my body that were very dry. It especially softened the tougher skin on my heels and elbows but I wouldn't recommend it for the face because of its strong smell. The Lavender & Chamomile Balm is very similar to the Original but, unsurprisingly, with a soothing hint of lavender and chamomile running throughout.

The Warming Balm was the one I was most looking forward to trying but it left me a little disappointed. While the deliciously spicy cinnamon scent was certainly wintery and warming, I didn't feel that using the product warmed up my body. It was also the most greasy of all the balms I tried, making it wholly unsuitable for the face. Even after applying it elsewhere, such as my arms and legs, it left an unpleasant sticky filter a long time after use.

Of the products from the range I tried my favourite was the Rose Balm. It was the least oily so I was able to use it on my face without any problems. The product was absorbed quickly and left my skin feeling soft and hydrated much longer than the body creams and lotions I usually use, making it perfect for the current weather conditions. The scent was also very delicate meaning that while it left a pleasant fragrance straight after application, it didn't linger too long.

After trying four of the balms I was surprised by the differences in both scent and use for each, as I had expected them to be far more similar. I struggled a little at first with applying the product as I found it difficult to spread over a larger part of my body but I got used to the consistency after a while and it became an easier task. Each of the balms did leave the hand I'd been using to apply it with very oily, but this was easy to wash off.

Also good to know is that the pots come in a variety of sizes, which is very handy. The smallest of them all, which contains 10ml of the balm, is perfectly sized to fit into any handbag without adding to the weight. I've popped one into each of the bags I regularly use so I have a remedy against (unexpected) dry skin at hand whenever it may be necessary.

Book review: Yours Truly by Kirsty Greenwood


My edition: Paperback, to be published on 21 November 2013 by Pan Macmillan, 388 pages.

Description: Newly engaged Natalie Butterworth is an easy-going girl. She'll do anything for a quiet life and if telling a few teensy white lies keeps her friends and family happy, then so what? It's not like they'll ever discover what she's really thinking...

Until one night, thanks to a pub hypnotist, Natalie's most private thoughts begin to bubble up and pop out of her mouth. Things get very messy indeed, especially when some sticky home truths offend her fiancé.

Natalie must track down the hypnotist before her wedding is officially cancelled. So along with bad influence bestie Meg, Natalie finds herself in the Yorkshire Parish of Little Trooley - a small village bursting with big secrets, nosy old folk and intriguing Wellington-wearing men.

Rating:

Tuesday, 19 November 2013

DFS' literary event in aid of BBC Children in Need



DFS's flagship store on Tottenham Court Road in central London played host to three brilliant authors (Jenny Colgan, Alex Marwood and Viv Groskop) on Thursday the 14th of November as part of a literary evening in aid of BBC's Children in Need. Colgan is the award-winning author of amongst others the excellent novels Meet Me At the Cupcake Café and Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams, Marwood is the bestselling author of The Wicked Girls and Groskop is a comedian and columnist as well as the author of comic autobiography, I Laughed, I Cried: How One Woman Took on Stand-Up and (Almost) Ruined Her Life.

As soon as my friend and I walked into DFS we were welcomed with a glass of bubbly and as we sat down in one of the comfortable sofas set up for the event we were served some delicious canapes to kill the time before the authors' arrival. From the amount of glasses set up I gather they were hoping for quite a crowd but unfortunately not quite as many arrived in the end, which is such a shame as it was a brilliant evening and people really missed out.

Alex Marwood, Viv Groskop and Jenny Colgan

The authors talked about their work, did readings and answered questions. Particular highlight for me was getting to ask Jenny Colgan some questions as I love her novels and she was very kind and generous with her time. She even signed a book I had brought, despite her having to rush off to another event after. She also delighted us with her first ever reading and revealed that not only is she working on Wedding at the Cupcake Café (to be published in 2014) but she may also release another Christmas Rosie Hopkins book next year. All of that is on top of Little Beach Street Bakery, which is published in March, so fans of her work are in for a treat.

I had heard Viv Groskop speak at another event in the past and she was once again very witty and interesting to listen to as she spoke about her own experiences as a writer and the trials and tribulations of making it as a stand-up comedian. And while I was unfamilar with Alex Marwood's work before the evening (as I am not much into crime/thriller novels, normally) she made her books sound so intriguing that I have to pick up a copy of Wicked Girls now as soon as time allows. What I also loved was that she revealed that she used to write chick-lit but because she kept killing off her characters she turned to crime instead. From all the praise The Wicked Girls has received so far, I'd say she made a good call there.

When the author Q&A was finished there was a little more time for bubbly and mingling and the organisers also had three brand-new Kindle Paperwhites to give away to attendees! It was supposed to be a prize draw but since fewer people than anticipated had showed up they decided to give each group of friends a Kindle instead and let them 'fight it out' amongst themselves. After some back and forth of "You should have it!" "No, you!" between my friend and I, I eventually caved (it didn't take much) and became the very grateful recipient of the Kindle (squeeee!). My previous ereader (a BeBook Mini) is old and has started acting up so this couldn't have come at a better time. I'm also finally able to read all the Kindle books I've purchased from Amazon over the past few years on-the-go as I never got around to reading them from the PC app at home.

Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams signed by Jenny Colgan and my new Kindle!

I want to say a big THANK YOU to DFS and the authors in attendance for making this such a brilliant night of bookish chat with wonderful people and delicious food and drink. The fact that there wasn't a big crowd of people made it quite special and intimate, which was great for the attendees. Though of course it was a real shame from the organisers' point of view as it was a charity night and so more people showing up would have meant more money could have been raised. While me and my friend each purchased one of the lovely charity pillows they had for sale in the store, that's obviously not going to bring in the amount of £££ the organisers were hoping for.

So to gather up some more support for their wonderful efforts I want to urge everyone to have a look at the limited edition cushions on offer (they're not both with Pudsey on the front, there's a cute polka-dotted one too if you rather have a more general print) and part with just £10 in store in support of Children in Need. Or purchase it online, where you pay an additional £3.99 in shipping costs for the comfort of it being delivered to your own front door.



Monday, 18 November 2013

Lunch at A Room in the West End

A Room in the West End is located below Teuchters bar in Edinburgh's William Street. It's just a few minutes of walking away from the busy Haymarket and Princes Street area, so is perfectly situated for a well-earned lunch or dinner rest stop after a few hours of (Christmas) shopping.

Book review: Christmas at Carrington's by Alexandra Brown


My edition: Paperback, to be published on 5 December 2013 by Harper, 365 pages.

Description: Georgie Hart loves Christmas time at Carrington's Department store. Running Luxury Handbags, Georgie adores helping customers in the hunt for the perfect gift for the perfect someone. And this year is no exception - now she has the hunky Tom, Mr Carrington himself, to spend the special day with.

But when Tom springs a surprise, Georgie's plans are thrown into chaos. Carrington's is getting a fresh lease of life in a hot new reality TV show, featuring formidable retail guru, Kelly Cooper.

 As the first show airs, Georgie is shown in a far from flattering light. Worse is to come when Kelly's vile daughter appears to get her claws into Tom. Georgie fears this will be the worst Christmas ever, but Santa still has a little surprise for her stocking this year - she'll just have to wait until Christmas to find out...

Rating:

Sunday, 17 November 2013

Sunday post #15


Sunday is when I sit back with a lovely cup of tea and write about all the wonderful new books I've received and purchased in the past week. This post participates in fab memes Showcase Sunday and Stacking the Shelves.


• Kindle Paperwhite - this was a gift!! See below :)
Christmas at Carrington's by Alexandra Brown (review copy)
Dot by Araminta Hall (competition win)
Finding Colin Firth by Mia March (review copy)
The Making of Us by Lisa Jewell (gift)
There is More to Life Than Cupcakes by Poppy Nolan - ebook (competition win)
Wicked Ambition by Victoria Fox (gift)



I had an absolutely fab literary week! On Monday I unexpectedly managed to get a last minute ticket to Cosmopolitan's Author Masterclass with Lindsey Kelk (squee), Lisa Jewell, Tasmina Perry and Victoria Fox. It was a wonderful evening of champagne, book chat and insights, and we also received goodie bags, which is where I got my copies of The Making of Us and Wicked Ambition from and which I both got signed at the event.

On Thursday I went to DFS's literary evening in aid of BBC's Children in Need where I had a chance to listen to authors Jenny Colgan (love her novels), Viv Groskop and Alex Marwood as they talked about their work, did readings and answered questions. It was an absolutely brilliant night and very intimate as not many people were there other than the authors and organisers!

On the one hand this was great for the attendees, on the other it was a real shame as it was a charity night and so more people showing up would mean more money could have be raised. On the plus side for me though, they were giving away three new Kindle Paperwhites on the night and I got one! My previous ereader (a BeBook Mini) is old and has started acting up so this couldn't have come at a better time. I'm also finally able to read all the Kindle books I've purchased from Amazon over the past few years on-the-go as I never got around to reading them from the PC app at home.

And then there's the brilliant books I received in the post in the last two weeks. I've already read both Finding Colin Firth (see my review here) and Christmas at Carrington's (review will be up on Monday) and they were amongst the best books I've read this year. So the fact that I received them so close together is pretty awesome!

Have you guys read any of the books listed above yet? If so, what did you think? I hope you have all received some fabulous new reads as well ♥ And if you have a Kindle Paperwhite, do let me know what your favourite features are as so far all I can do with it is read books, but I know it has some more cool features ;)

Friday, 15 November 2013

Book review: I Heart Christmas by Lindsey Kelk


My edition: Paperback (uncorrected proof), to be published 21 November 2013 by Harper, 384 pages.

Description: Angela's planning her very own fairytale of New York...

• Enormous Christmas tree
• Eggnog
• Eccentric British traditions
• Gorgeous man

But Santa's throwing her a few curveballs – new job (as if it's not mental enough already), new baby-craze from her best friend Jenny, and Alex determined they should grow up and settle down.

Once friends start turning up uninvited on her doorstep (and leading her astray), can Angela really have a merry little Christmas? So much for happy holidays – something's got to give...


Rating:

Thursday, 14 November 2013

Lunch at Edinburgh Larder

Edinburgh Larder is located in the heart of Scotland's capital and celebrated its first birthday earlier this year. There are two locations in the city and we had the pleasure to visit the Bistro on Alva Street, which offers its customers a fixed price lunch menu between noon and 2.30pm where three courses are priced at a very reasonable £15 per person.

Wednesday, 13 November 2013

Book review: Finding Colin Firth by Mia March


My edition: Paperback, published on 7 November 2013 by Pan Macmillan, 385 pages.

Description: At home in Boothbay Harbour, Maine, Veronica Russo loves to lose herself in watching Colin Firth movies and baking pies filled with good thoughts. Pies that can bring you happiness, hope, even love (everything she feels when Colin Firth is on the screen, in fact). But Veronica is not so in touch with her own feelings and has deeply buried memories of that one heart-breaking summer, when she was just 16...

In Boston, college graduate Bea Crane has received an earth-shattering letter. A year after the death of her wonderful mum, she reads that she was adopted at birth and that her biological mother lives not that far away, in Boothbay. But is she brave enough to find out more?

Gemma Hendricks has come to Boothbay not to find something, but to run away. She’s accidentally pregnant, suddenly unemployed and under pressure from her husband to give up on her career and settle down, away from her beloved New York City. With all this on her shoulders, Gemma would rather watch Bridget Jones' Diary with a bowl of popcorn rather than face the truth. But she can't hide away for ever.

With Colin Firth in town to shoot a new movie, all three women find their lives become closely entwined. They might be looking out for Colin Firth at every turn, but they’ll also find new and important friendships along the way.


Rating:

Monday, 11 November 2013

BLOG TOUR - Book review + giveaway: Conditional Love by Cathy Bramley


My edition: Ebook, published on 4 October 2013 by Createspace.

Description: All her life she has dreamed of a home of her own, so what's holding her back?

Sophie Stone, thirty-something serial procrastinator, lover of Take That, Tesco knickers and tea with two sugars, rarely steps out of her comfort zone.

So when an unexpected inheritance from a great aunt she's never met forces her to meet her father, it threatens the very foundations of Sophie's world.

What did the old lady want her to discover? Was there more to her parents' break up than she was led to believe?

Sophie will have to face some startling home truths before she can finally build a future on her own terms.

Rating:


I'm so excited to be a part of the blog tour for Conditional Love by Cathy Bramley! I absolutely adored this novel; it was cute and charming and incredibly funny. Find my review and a fab giveaway below.

Friday, 8 November 2013

Book review: Christmas at Claridge's by Karen Swan


My edition: Paperback, published on 7 November 2013 by Pan, 502 pages.

Description: Portobello – home to the world-famous street market, Notting Hill Carnival and Clem Alderton. She's the queen of the scene, the girl everyone wants to be or be with.

But beneath the morning-after makeup, Clem is keeping a secret, and when she goes too far one reckless night she endangers everything – her home, her job and even her adored brother's love.

Portofino – a place of wild beauty and old-school glamour, and where a neglected villa has been bought by a handsome stranger.

He wants Clem to restore it for him and it seems like the answer to all her problems – except that Clem has been there once before and vowed, for her own protection, never to return...


Rating:

Thursday, 7 November 2013

Dinner at The Magnum in Edinburgh

When you walk into The Magnum you might think it's an ordinary pub. Though the front section certainly emanates the rustic and jolly ambience of one, when you turn a corner you enter a cosy country restaurant. The area reserved for diners is quite small and dark, but curtains of twinkling fairy lights along the large windows add a charming touch and provide just enough light to be able to read the menu without taking away from the otherwise intimate atmosphere.

Tuesday, 5 November 2013

Book review: The Proposal by Tasmina Perry


My edition: Paperback, to be published on 7 November 2013 by Headline, 334 pages.

Description: When Amy Carrell's wealthy boyfriend ends their relationship just before Christmas, she's left to nurse her broken heart alone. With nothing to lose, she replies to an advertisement requesting a companion for a mysterious 'Manhattan adventure'.

Whisked off to New York with eccentric British aristocrat Georgia Hamilton, Amy experiences a glamorous side of the city that she's never seen before. Along the way, Georgia initiates her protegee in the arts of old-school elegance.

But as Georgia shares her life lessons, Amy discovers a painful secret in her mentor's past. A secret that shattered her future. A story of love and betrayal that only Amy has the power to put right.


Rating:

Sunday, 3 November 2013

Sunday post #14


Sunday is when I sit back with a lovely cup of tea and write about all the wonderful new books I've received and purchased in the past week. This post participates in fab memes Showcase Sunday and Stacking the Shelves.


Christmas at Claridge's by Karen Swann (review copy)
Dark Possession by Carol Goodman (review copy)
Getting Rooted in New Zealand by Jamie Baywood (competition win)
I Heart Christmas by Lindsey Kelk (review copy)
Lighthouse Bay by Kimberley Freeman (review copy)
Mary Berry's Christmas Collection (competition win)
Me and Mr Carrington by Alexandra Brown - ebook (competition win)
Motherland by William Nicholson (review copy)
Pivot Point by Kasie West (review copy)
The Lives She Left Behind by James Long (review copy)
The One Plus One by Jojo Moyes (review copy)



It's been a while since I made a Sunday post as I was on holiday in Scotland with limited Internet (and no access to my mail box :p) hence the amount of books listed in this post.

Most of the above was waiting for me upon my return and what a fabulous way to come back! I was feeling a bit down because the fantastic trip was over but opening one exciting package after another surely made me feel somewhat better. I was particularly happy with the amount of Christmas related reads as I LOVE Christmas, and with it already being NovemberI am starting to get properly in the Christmas mood!

Have you guys read any of the books listed above yet? If so, what did you think? I hope you have all received some fabulous new reads as well!