Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Book review: Super Awkward by Beth Garrod

I had the pleasure of meeting author Beth Garrod at a Scholastic blogger event earlier this year where she spoke about her then upcoming novel Super Awkward. Approaching it from the perspective of being a "super awkward author", she was absolutely hilarious and so needless to say I was super keen to get my hands on her book after that.

Tuesday, 25 October 2016

My Favourite Festive Fairs in London

With only one week to go until November it's safe to say I've gone into full Christmas mood. Yes, I am one of those people but who doesn't love the season of fluffy socks and cosy jumpers, the crispy sound and smell of open fires, the beautiful twinkling lights, and seasonal film rewatches (I'm looking at you The Muppet Christmas Carol and Curly Sue)? It's also the time of year I am reunited with my family so that homely feeling is definitely a big part of it for me too. However, before I leave for the Netherlands I always like to make the most from Christmas in London. One of the things I especially love about the city is the abundance of fairs, which are perfect to buy unique gifts from independent British brands and to gather inspiration for festive crafts and decorations.

Monday, 24 October 2016

The Best Attractions and Areas I Visited in Vancouver

Even though I'm in denial, I've been back from Canada for a week already. However, I'm determined to make the holiday feeling last for a few more months by treating you to a weekly blog post in which I'll be telling you about all the fun I had! I have a lot of different blog posts planned – from one on our hike to the stunning Joffre Lakes to a shopping haul – but for the first one I'd like to highlight some of the most awesome touristy things I enjoyed in Vancouver (some will get dedicated posts in the coming months too), including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, FlyOver Canada, VanDusen Botanical Gardens, Grouse Mountain, Capilano Suspension Bridge, Library Square, Commercial Drive and Vancouver Lookout.

Friday, 21 October 2016

Ragtime at Charing Cross Theatre

Photo credit:Scott Rylander

After the epic production of Titanic over the summer, artistic director Thom Southerland is continuing his winning streak at Charing Cross Theatre with Ragtime. This musical adaptation of the 1975 novel by E.L. Doctorow brings together three different stories, each representing a group of people prominent within the US at the turn of the 20th century when Ragtime was at its height. And the new production is filled with heart and rhythm, just like the musical genre it's named after.

Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Book review: The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking [blog tour]

Hygge is a Danish word that encompasses the feeling of cosiness and living well. Denmark is often called the happiest country on earth and the concept of hygge is one of the main attributions to this. With the darker winter months settling in and people's working and social lives being more busy and stressful than ever before, we can all use a little hygge in our lives. And this gorgeous book by the CEO of the Happiness Research Institute in Copenhagen can help you do just that.

Wednesday, 12 October 2016

The Disney X Cath Kidston Winnie the Pooh Collaboration

I love Cath Kidston and I love Disney, so when the two brands announced their collaboration I couldn't have been more excited. I signed up for the newsletter and pre-sale, and even cheekingly emailed the PR office to see if there would be a press viewing I could attend so my blog about the products could go live the same day it launched in shops. Sadly my emails went unanswered, so on Monday 26 September I counted down the hours until my lunch break instead to rush to the shops for an impromptu photo shoot of the collection that was absolutely flying off the shelves.

Monday, 10 October 2016

Book review: Other-Wordly by Yee-Lum Mak and Kelsey Garrity-Riley

Since it's mid-October that means it's safe to say the C-word, right? And by that I, of course, mean Christmas. I always like to be very organised and start thinking about gifts for the holidays around this time and I already know that the absolutely gorgeous Other-Wordly, with words by Yee-Lum Mak and illustrations by Kelsey Garrity-Riley, will be my go-to gift for friends and family this year. It is quirky, insightful and one of the most stunning non-fiction books I've had the pleasure to read in a very long time.

Friday, 7 October 2016

Book review: We Were on a Break by Lindsey Kelk [blog tour]

I've said it many times before but it bears repeating: absolutely love Lindsey Kelk's books. She is hilarious in real life and her witty humour really shines trough in her writing. On top of the I Heart... and About a Girl series, she's also started writing some excellent stand-alone novels and We Were on a Break is her latest one, perfectly personifying her fun style. Also, how genius is the title of this one? I dare you to read it and not think of Ross and Rachel from Friends. (Let's say it all together: WE. WERE. ON. A BREAK!)

Wednesday, 5 October 2016

Book review: The Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange

I've really been getting into reading more children's books again lately, not in the least thanks to the stunning The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, published by Chicken House Books earlier this year. So when the same publisher reached out to me to tell me about The Secret of Nightingale Wood I couldn't have been more excited to read it. The novel sounded like a future children's classic in the making, along the lines of The Secret Garden and The Railway Children.

Monday, 3 October 2016

Interview with Freddie Tapner, Founder and Principal Conductor of the London Musical Theatre Orchestra

A few months ago I had the pleasure of attending a gala launch to celebrate the first public season of the London Musical Theatre Orchestra (LMTO). It was an incredible evening, which really showed off the immense talent of the musicians on stage and it got me very excited for their first show this year, State Fair at Cadogan Hall on 6 November. And because this performance is just a month away now, I'm delighted to share with you my interview with Freddie Tapner, who is the founder and Principal Conductor of the LMTO.