Thursday, 11 November 2021

 

Book review: The Dublin Railway Murder by Thomas Morris [blog tour]


I've been on a murder mystery kick this year, devouring the likes of Agatha Christie (of course), Richard Osman, Sophie Hannah (who's written new stories featuring Hercule Poirot), and Anthony Horowitz (Magpie Murders, Moonflower Murders). So when I heard about The Dublin Railway Murder, which is a mystery based on a real-life Victorian murder, needless to say I was immediately intrigued. 

Thursday, 4 November 2021

 

Theatre review: Six at the Vaudeville Theatre


"Divorced, beheaded, died. Divorced, beheaded, survived." If you grew up in the UK you probably learned all about the wives of Henry VIII in this way in school. But how much do you truly know about these women, their lives before marrying the king, and what made them unique individuals rather than one of the wives? The musical Six lifts the curtain on these incredible women at last, empowering them by giving each one a chance to sparkle in the spotlight and rewrite their history, so it becomes her story.

Friday, 22 October 2021

 

Film review: Dear Evan Hansen


Dear Evan Hansen was a sensation when it opened on Broadway in 2016, winning six Tony Awards, including 'Best Musical', 'Best Score' (the cast recording also won a Grammy), and 'Best Leading Actor in a Musical' for its lead Ben Platt, making him the youngest solo winner for this award in Tony history. And Platt has now returned to the role he originated on stage for the film adaptation, which also stars Amy Adams and Julianne Moore. 

Monday, 18 October 2021

 

Book review: The Prince of the Skies by Antonio Iturbe [blog tour]


The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry is a true example of a literary classic. Even nearly 80 years after publication it resonates with audiences in its original written form and in the countless adaptations that have been created since. For a novella that is often billed as a children's book, it has surprising adult and deep themes, centred around friendship, loss, and loneliness. Themes that run through the author's own life too.

Thursday, 7 October 2021

 

Book review: Once Upon a Broken Heart by Stephanie Garber


The Caraval trilogy by Stephanie Garber is one of the most imaginative, exciting, and memorable series I've ever read. And as friends online and offline are all too aware of, it's one of my staple book recommendations from the past 5 years (alongside the incredible Station Eleven), to anyone looking to pick up a new read. I started out loving the series for its magical world-building, but it's the characters that kept me hooked until the finale. One of the most complex, nuanced, and mysterious has always been the mischievous Jacks. And we haven't heard the last of this Prince of Hearts, as he's a pivotal character in the new spin-off, Once Upon a Broken Heart, which is set in the same world as Caraval but can also be read as a stand-alone.   

Thursday, 30 September 2021

 

Book review: The Man Who Died Twice by Richard Osman (The Thursday Murder Club #2) [blog tour]


The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman is one of those books I cannot stop recommending to people. It's unique, funny, and hugely compelling, and has rightfully so sat at the top of the book charts for many consecutive months. The long-awaited sequel was released just a few weeks ago and sold an astonishing 114,202 copies in the first week alone – a testimony to how much readers love Osman's wonderful writing. I'm thrilled to be a part of the blog tour once again, as this is a book, and series, so very deservedly of being shouted about again and again. 
  

Tuesday, 31 August 2021

 

7 powerful retellings of classic Greek myths that should be on everyone's to-read list


Female characters in Greek mythology are unsung heroes who very rarely get appreciated for their impact on the myths; they're witches to be banished, prizes to be handed out like gold and cattle, and they lead male protagonists astray. It's a narrative that has become tiring and outdated and I'm glad that there are some excellent authors out there that are re-envisioning these ancient tales to put the women centre stage, giving them a chance to be the heroes of their own stories. Today I'm sharing four of my favourite retellings of Greek myths I've read to date – and three that are still on my to-read list. 

Monday, 16 August 2021

 

Book review: A Line to Kill by Anthony Horowitz


I have shared my love for Anthony Horowitz' books throughout the years. I grew up reading Alex Rider and Power of Five, and in more recent years I've discovered his adult novels. All of these are hugely gripping, packed with clever stories I can't get enough of. One of my favourite newer series is the Hawthorne and Horowitz mysteries, in which he plants himself at the heart of a whodunnit. And the third instalment, which can be read as a stand-alone too, will be published this week.

Friday, 16 July 2021

 

Book review: Meet Me In Another Life by Catriona Silvey [blog tour]


Sometimes I'm in the mood for a straight-forward romance, at others I enjoy racking my brains over a good old-fashioned mystery. Meet Me In Another Life is all that and then some; love story, sci-fi, family drama, mystery, all wrapped into one stonkin' good read. 

Monday, 12 July 2021

 

Book review: Deeper Into the Wood by Ruth Pavey [blog tour]


I've been on a non-fiction kick lately, particularly enjoying reads on the natural world, such as the incredible and insightful Tapestries of Life by Anne Sverdrup-Thygeson and the calming descriptions of the English countryside and its inhabitants in the books by John Lewis-Stempel. So when I saw that Deeper Into the Wood by Ruth Pavey was released last month it immediately caught my attention – and I'm thrilled to have the opportunity to share my review of this wonderful book as part of the blog tour.