Monday, 15 October 2018

 

Top Picks From the Quercus 2019 Showcase


As you guys have seen in the lack of posts on here in recent months I've been in a massive blogging slump due to changes in my life. I have tons of ideas and things I want to talk about (I have dozens of unfinished blogs in my drafts) but when I actually sit down to write a post... nothing comes out. However, I was SO inspired by the Quercus 2019 showcase last week, which was filled with incredible sounding books that they'll be releasing in the next six months, Instagram-worthy displays and amazing people, that it not only made me excited to finally create one of my bookish Twitter threads again, but I've been itching to write about it on here too to share the amazing upcoming releases with you guys as well.

Monday, 8 October 2018

 

The Best Christmas Fairs in London + Ticket Giveaway


It may sound a bit early to start mentioning Christmas but I can't help it guys, I just love the season of joy so much. And with the first festive fair starting at the end of the month – the time has come for me to start planning which seasonal outings I'll be adding to my diary this year, which is a huge part of the fun in the lead up to 25 December. The first event to hit London calendars is the Spirit of Christmas Fair in Olympia and not only am I rounding up my favourite fairs to hit up this year I also I have an opportunity for one lucky reader to win two free tickets to the first one of the season!

Friday, 14 September 2018

 

Eugenius! at The Other Palace


Geeky, sci-fi musical Eugenius! is one of the best shows I've seen in theatre this year. In fact, I loved it so much the first time around it was playing in London I ended up seeing it twice. So I was thrilled when it was announced that the charming feel-good musical would return to its theatrical home The Other Palace for another limited run this year, with some of the main cast reuniting for another superhero-filled few months on the London stage.

Friday, 7 September 2018

 

42nd Street at Theatre Royal Drury Lane


As a musical theatre lover I've seen pretty much every show in the West End (most of them more than once) but somehow I hadn't been to see 42nd Street at Theatre Royal Drury Lane until this week, despite it playing in London since early last year already. I'm clearly a fake fan! It has been through a few cast iterations since threading the boards here in the UK, and the most recent addition that I got to enjoy included none other than Bonnie Langford in the role of show-stealing diva Dorothy Brock.

Wednesday, 5 September 2018

 

A Sky Painted Gold by Laura Wood


Ever since I heard author Laura Wood talk about her debut young adult novel A Sky Painted Gold at this year's Scholastic Bloggers' Book Feast, I've been excited for this book to be released. A YA historical fiction set in Cornwall with Great Gatsby and I Capture the Castle vibes? Uhm yes please. And even though I read it a fair few months ago now and this review was delayed because of my new job and general life business, this is still one novel I keep recommending people to pick up, as it's a beautiful, summery escapism read (and also that cover! 😍).

Monday, 3 September 2018

 

The 5 Best Things to See and Do in the Lake District


One place that has been on my travel wish list for years is the Lake District. I love getaways that involve beautiful scenery, so this national park looked right up my street. Despite its relative closeness to London (it's in the same country after all), train tickets are quite expensive so it never happened. But when I had some time off before starting my new job I decided to make the most it and finally booked a return to Windermere in the heart of the national park. While this was the base for my five-day Lake District getaway, two friends with a car also joined for a day and we drove all the way north as well. The national park was everything I hoped it'd be and here are my top tips for the best things to see and do when visiting the Lake District.

Wednesday, 29 August 2018

 

What I Read in June & July 2018 – Round-Up & Mini Reviews


Wowzers, it's been months since I've posted a reading wrap up, I'm so sorry! My new job has been taking up a lot of my time and I haven't been reading as much as before. Though even when combining two months worth of books (seven books in total, two not pictured as they were ebooks) I didn't have the motivation for blogging as I've been feeling mentally depleted. I have a ton of blog post ideas but I need to find the time and energy to get back to a regular posting schedule. The exhausting heat of summer hasn't helped either, but I'm hoping as cosier months are ahead of us I'll be able to get back into the swing of things. Thanks for your patience in the mean time 😊

Friday, 24 August 2018

 

Honey Bee Afternoon Tea at Dalloway Terrace

My friend Laura from Laura Patricia Rose and I do love a good themed afternoon tea. I think my favourite one we've tried together is still the Autumn Afternoon Tea at Emmeline's Lounge in the Conrad London St. James hotel, but the Honey Bee Afternoon Tea at Dalloway Terrace – a location beautifully decked out in vibrant flowers and buzzing bees befitting the tea's theme – has got to be a very close second.

Saturday, 18 August 2018

 

Spring Awakening at Stockwell Playhouse


After 13 The Musical last year at the Ambassadors Theatre and Bring It On the musical, which is currently playing at Southwark Playhouse, the British Theatre Academy is on an absolute roll as they've also brought provocative coming-of-age musical Spring Awakening to London audiences for a limited run at the Stockwell Playhouse.

Thursday, 16 August 2018

 

Sounds and Sorcery Celebrating Disney's Fantasia at The Vaults


I've been a huge Disney geek for as long as I can remember. I may not mention Disney quite as much on my blog as I do in real life (though I have a few themed posts planned, so stay tuned!) but that doesn't mean that my love for the 90-year-old mouse and his friends has disappeared in the slightest. So when I heard about a new immersive theatre experience at the Vaults underneath Waterloo Station inspired by the Disney classic animated film Fantasia, I was sold.