Thursday, 22 March 2018


Wildlife Photographer of the Year Exhibition at the Natural History Museum

We're incredibly lucky in London to have a wealth of museums and art galleries on our doorstep. Regardless of what you're interested in, you'll be able to find an exhibition to suit your tastes. I love discovering new animals facts and nature pictures, so the stunning Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition at the Natural History Museum is one of my annual staples on the cultural calendar. Not only is it a gorgeous exhibit to visit, but the captions underneath each photo provide fascinating insights into exotic locations and animals, making it a very educational outing for all ages.

Tuesday, 20 March 2018


London in Spring: The Columbia Road Flower Market

We may have had snow in London as recent as this past weekend, but meteorologically speaking spring has already started. Sure, we tend to go by the astronomical calendar but even then it's only another few days until the season of daffodils and blossoms kicks off. With the unseasonably cold weather recently it's been even harder than normal to find spring in London (Wisteria Hysteria is a little while off yet), but there is one London staple that you can visit all year around and looks particularly delightful in spring: The Columbia Road Flower Market.

Wednesday, 14 March 2018


The Last Wilderness by Neil Ansell

I've been meaning to pick up more nature writing and The Last Wilderness has been the perfect introduction. Neil Ansell's astute observations and eloquent descriptions of his solitary journey through the remote Scottish Highlands was a true delight to experience – bringing a sense of calm to my hectic days with the sheer power of his words.

Friday, 9 March 2018


Top Picks From the £1 Penguin Modern Classics Series

From the moment I first heard about the new Penguin Modern Classics series on the YouTube channel of Jean Bookishthoughts, I've become a little obsessed with this collection of books capturing some of the most captivating voices of modern literature through speeches, essays, short stories and poems. Where I purchased only a handful of the classics from the series that was released a few years ago, in the days since the launch of the gorgeous new pastel blue collection I've become the owner of 12 of the 50 titles. #sorrynotsorry

Wednesday, 7 March 2018


What I Read in February 2018 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

With my goal for 2018 to take more time for each book I read and stress less about getting through all of the review titles ever, I've read a 'mere' four books in February, and I'm okay with that. Being more picky with the titles I picked they've unanimously been brilliant reads (a lovely mixture of fiction and non-fiction too) and I feel very happy with my bookish accomplishment of the month. I've also had more time for reading other content, such as blogs and magazines. I've had years of subscriptions to National Geographic and National Geographic Traveller but never read them back-to-back and I'm now catching up, which I am really enjoying! They are my all-time favourite magazines and it feels so good to finally get around to them, plus they also nicely align with my goal of reading more educational and travel-related content this year, win/win. 

Monday, 5 March 2018


Wyld Afternoon Tea at Mondrian London

I love my themed afternoon teas, having enjoyed an autumnal tea, a Beauty and the Beast one and another in a library in the last year alone. So when my birthday came around last month and it was time to decide on a place to go, needless to say afternoon tea was high on the list. There were a few different location that all sounded great (and I will be checking out this year so stay tuned) but the one we went for this time around was the botanical tea, and it was delightful.

Wednesday, 28 February 2018


5 Inspiring Reads for a Mindful March

The art of mindfulness is being discussed at length in literature at the moment and it's easy to understand why. In our fast-paced, digital society it's become harder than ever to focus on the here and now; too many distractions just a quick glance of a mobile device away. I've personally been so caught up in work and the stresses that come with it in recent years that I've hardly had time to focus on me. In 2018 I am making a conscious effort to spend more time on personal development and being present in the moment – with the ultimate goal to feel more fulfilled and happy. Inspirational books have been my first point of call to helping me on this journey, and here are some of my recent favourites.

Monday, 26 February 2018


The Ultimate Guide of Things to Do in Manchester

I absolutely love Manchester. It's one of my favourite places in the UK but one that is greatly underrated. My first visit was driven by meeting up with friends, rather than exploring the city, but since making my first trip down a few years ago I've been back plenty of times and there is always something new to discover. Filled with tons of arts & culture, great shopping districts and wonderful places to eat, it's a city I would highly recommend when hitting up the UK. It makes a good day trip from London as the Virgin Train from Euston station to the heart of Manchester is just over two hours each way (and tickets can be as cheap as £5 each way when on offer), or a long weekend getaway if you want a little more time to explore.

Friday, 23 February 2018


Eugenius! Super Fan Event at The Other Palace

Earlier this month I saw the geeky and 80s inspired Eugenius!, a fun-filled new British musical of which the songs are *still* stuck in my head three weeks down the line. I didn't expect to be back at The Other Palace theatre quite so soon, but when I was invited to a special evening that would also include a Q&A with co-writer Chris Wilkins, producer Warwick Davis (the one and only!) and director Ian Talbot, I of course didn't have to think twice before accepting.

Wednesday, 21 February 2018


Brightstorm by Vashti Hardy

This book you guys, it's so cool! When I unexpectedly received a review copy in the post from the lovely Scholastic team and saw *that* epic proof cover I knew I'd be in for a treat but I didn't realise quite how much of one. I read Brightstorm all the way at the start of the year, and I am still in awe of its awesomeness and have extensively recommend it since. I can't wait for next week to come around so it's finally published and you all can pick up a copy of this excellent middle grade read too!