Tuesday, 31 August 2021

 

7 powerful retellings of classic Greek myths that should be on everyone's to-read list


Female characters in Greek mythology are unsung heroes who very rarely get appreciated for their impact on the myths; they're witches to be banished, prizes to be handed out like gold and cattle, and they lead male protagonists astray. It's a narrative that has become tiring and outdated and I'm glad that there are some excellent authors out there that are re-envisioning these ancient tales to put the women centre stage, giving them a chance to be the heroes of their own stories. Today I'm sharing four of my favourite retellings of Greek myths I've read to date – and three that are still on my to-read list. 

Monday, 16 August 2021

 

Book review: A Line to Kill by Anthony Horowitz


I have shared my love for Anthony Horowitz' books throughout the years. I grew up reading Alex Rider and Power of Five, and in more recent years I've discovered his adult novels. All of these are hugely gripping, packed with clever stories I can't get enough of. One of my favourite newer series is the Hawthorne and Horowitz mysteries, in which he plants himself at the heart of a whodunnit. And the third instalment, which can be read as a stand-alone too, will be published this week.

Friday, 16 July 2021

 

Book review: Meet Me In Another Life by Catriona Silvey [blog tour]


Sometimes I'm in the mood for a straight-forward romance, at others I enjoy racking my brains over a good old-fashioned mystery. Meet Me In Another Life is all that and then some; love story, sci-fi, family drama, mystery, all wrapped into one stonkin' good read. 

Monday, 12 July 2021

 

Book review: Deeper Into the Wood by Ruth Pavey [blog tour]


I've been on a non-fiction kick lately, particularly enjoying reads on the natural world, such as the incredible and insightful Tapestries of Life by Anne Sverdrup-Thygeson and the calming descriptions of the English countryside and its inhabitants in the books by John Lewis-Stempel. So when I saw that Deeper Into the Wood by Ruth Pavey was released last month it immediately caught my attention – and I'm thrilled to have the opportunity to share my review of this wonderful book as part of the blog tour. 

Wednesday, 23 June 2021

 

Book review: This Fragile Earth by Susannah Wise [blog tour]


Dystopian novels are one of my favourite kinds of reads, and the cover of This Fragile Earth by Susannah Wise (colour, font, and image) screams Station Eleven (which is my all-time fav). Needless to say I had to start reading the book as soon as I got my hands on a copy, and I'm so glad I did as it was really compelling!

Wednesday, 9 June 2021

 

Book review: Tapestries of Life by Anne Sverdrup-Thygeson [blog tour]


The natural world is so fascinating but to the average person (myself included), a large part of its mysteries are hidden. The most magical yet tightly run ship happening just beyond my view, impacting everything that surrounds me – and allowing me to live the life I do. The most obscure animals, insects, fungi, and plants are all vital parts of the process, going unnoticed and unrecognised. Until now.

Thursday, 3 June 2021

 

Book review: Glass Coffin by Gabby Hutchinson Crouch [blog tour]


Retellings of fairy tales and myths are all the rage these days, and for good reason as they give readers a chance to see a different side to the often one-dimensional characters from the classic tales we grew up with. I've read some stonkin' reimaginings over the years, including Lost Boy by Christina Henry (telling the origin story of Peter Pan's arch rival Hook) and more recently Greek retelling Ariadne by Jennifer Saint, but I'm always keen to discover more of them. And when I heard about Glass Coffin by Gabby Hutchinson Crouch my interest was immediately peaked. 

Thursday, 27 May 2021

 

Book giveaway: The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle by Matt Cain


A few months ago I was part of the cover reveal for the beautiful The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle by Matt Cain. And today it is publication day, woohoo! To celebrate, I'm thrilled to be giving away  a stunning finished hardback copy of the book (not pictured! That is a photo of my 'proof' copy instead, but the cover will be the one you can see on the screen). Read on to find out more about this wonderful novel and how you can enter this giveaway...

Wednesday, 14 April 2021

 

Book review: Together by Luke Adam Hawker with words by Marianne Laidlaw [blog tour]


This past year has been difficult for many reasons. Not in the least the loneliness and detachment many have felt by being being away from their friends and families for such a long time. This has been especially tough for elderly people and those living by themselves. Inspired by his grandfather, Luke Adam Hawker has taken this feeling of loneliness and created a heartfelt story through his beautiful drawings of an old man and his dog cut off from the world during a big storm.

Sunday, 4 April 2021

 

Book review: Sistersong by Lucy Holland [blog tour]


I adore a good piece of ancient fantasy, particularly reimaginings of classic myths, legends, fairy tales, and ballads that hero characters often sidelined in the original. Circe by Madeline Miller details the story of a minor character from The Odyssey and is one of my all-time favs. So when I saw Sistersong by Lucy Holland was likened to this incredible book, I was instantly sold. Based on The Two Sisters, an old British murder ballad from the mid-seventeenth century, it answers the question of what happened to the third sister who appears in some versions of the original tale.