Wednesday, 21 June 2017

Exciting New Book Releases From HarperFiction


I do love a good book event, getting a sneak peek at upcoming titles while connecting in person with the publishers I regularly communicate with over email to discuss book reviews, author interviews, and other bookish fun? Yes, please! So when my friend Laura was invited to a HarperFiction event last month and she kindly asked me to come along, I of course said 'yes' as soon as the invite hit my inbox! HarperFiction (a division of HarperCollins) publishes some of my favourite authors, including Lindsey Kelk, Alex Brown, Lucy Clarke and Cressida McLaughlin – and there are lots of goodies in the publishing calendar from them and others (highlights below).

Monday, 19 June 2017

Inspirational Street Art – A Photo Tour of the Bees Buzzing Around Manchester


The worker bee has been a symbol for Manchester dating back to the Industrial Revolution and can be found on bins, Town Hall, and even the city's Coat of Arms. So it's unsurprising that this Mancunian symbol has been popping up in new street art across the city to show its strength and unity in the aftermath of the horrifying attack in Manchester Arena last month. When I visited Manchester last weekend I saw many of the beautiful works by graffiti artists such as Qubek, alongside touching drawings from children and even an anonymous Canadian chalk painting showcasing global solidarity for the people of Manchester ♥

Wednesday, 14 June 2017

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig

First you wait for ages for a swashbuckling time travel YA adventure to come along, and then two arrive at once. And I'm loving it. While I don't read many series nowadays because I lack the patience to wait the agonising publishing gap for the next one, both Alexandra Bracken's Passenger and Heidi Heilig's The Girl From Everywhere pulled me into their magical worlds through their innovative settings, characters and stories that I happily waited a year for their second installments, and I wasn't disappointed.

Monday, 12 June 2017

World Burger Tour Launch at Hard Rock Cafe London


Last week I made my first visit to the London branch of The Hard Rock Cafe (well... its Back Room location just across the road) for the launch of their brand new World Burger Tour menu. Offering four unique burgers with flavours from across the globe, and matching cocktails to boot, this is a super fun addition to their existing offerings for any burger lovers who want to try something new and unique.

Wednesday, 7 June 2017

Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

Hot Key Books has been one of my favourite publishers for years and Stephanie Tromly's novels are still the most unexpectedly delightful discovery from their list. They unfortunately aren't books that are everywhere in the media and on blogs (though they should be), so the only way I found out about them to begin with is by following the HKB social accounts, and I am so glad that I did because Tromly's books are now some of my favourites in the young adult genre. 

Monday, 5 June 2017

Brunch at Brownies & downieS in Emmen, Netherlands


I love checking out places to eat that are just a tad different and so on my visit home last week I had to pop into Brownies & downieS, which serves a huge selection of delicious lunchroom and coffee shop food and drinks. The thing that makes them stand out from the crowd (in addition to their excellent food, of course)? Many of the staff members, from waiting staff to the chefs creating beautifully plated dishes in the kitchen, have intellectual disabilities and the restaurant provides training opportunities and jobs for them which are often hard to come by in the hospitality sector. Hence its hugely catchy and fun name.

Wednesday, 31 May 2017

What I Read in May 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

While I post book reviews on this blog, I actually read more in a month than I can cover in a weekly review and I thought it was high time to start with monthly reading round-ups, so all the books I've had the pleasure to enjoy that month can be spotlighted on here! This post marks the first monthly wrap up and is a real mix of adult reads (fiction and non-fiction), young adult and even children's. Out of the books I read in May my favourites were When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi and Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly ♥

Monday, 29 May 2017

Trying Healthy Drinks at 42 Juice in Brighton


I've been really into fresh fruit and veg juices lately, especially ginger shots and any combination that has carrot and orange in it. I love smoothies too and I make those at home but for juices I don't have the right equipment (yet). So I'm always on the look-out for new juice places to try out and I heard great things about 42 Juice in Brighton. Not only do they serve a huge selection of cold-pressed juices, freshly prepared smoothies, shots, and alkaline waters, but their interior is super Instagrammable too. ♥

Friday, 26 May 2017

I Love Holland: Gezelligheid


Ages ago I promised you more posts on the Netherlands, and then life happened... oops. But I finally have some blogs planned for you guys and since I'm visiting my family again for a good week from tomorrow I thought it'd be a perfect opportunity to start with gezelligheid. You've likely heard about the Danish word hygge in the past year and gezelligheid is similar (though better, of course, ssshhh) as it describes a cosy and homely feeling, atmosphere or past-time and is one of the biggest things I love about being home (in addition to seeing my family). In this blog I highlight the things that define gezelligheid in the Netherlands. 

Monday, 22 May 2017

An Instagram Tour of Oxford


After my Instagram tours of Paris and Brighton, it was inevitable that I would do one of beautiful Oxford as well. The city of colleges, Narnia, Harry Potter, Middle Earth and more bookish greats (which you can read about in my Literary Guide to Oxford) is also called the city of Dreaming Spires and it's easy to see why with the beautiful college buildings seeming to go on forever as you look up and around you ♥ I shared a few of my snapshots on Instagram already but most of these are new, and I hope you enjoy them!