Friday, 6 May 2022

 

Book review: The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson [blog tour]


With the comeback of golden age murder mysteries, it was only a matter of time before a novel would emerge in the young adult genre reminiscent of these old school detective stories. And while The Agathas by co-authors Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson may not be the first one to be released (or it might be!), it is the first one that I've picked up. The title refers to the novel's protagonist, who is a big fan of Agatha Christie (hard relate) and, coincidentally, gets embroiled into a real-life murder mystery. Dun, dun, dun...

Tuesday, 26 April 2022

 

Book review: Miss Aldridge Regrets by Louise Hare [blog tour]


Miss Aldridge Regrets by Louise Hare is not the first historical murder mystery I've come across that's set on a cruise ship. In fact, it's not even the first one I've read this year, as I also devoured A Fatal Crossing by Tom Hindle a few months ago (it must be the Death on the Nile effect). But that doesn't mean I enjoyed it any less. The setting creates the perfect backdrop for a "locked room" mystery; where readers get to intimately know all the key players one by one until they start becoming either a victim or suspect in a murderous game of cat and mouse. And, of course, there are plenty of clever red herrings interspersed into the story to throw both te characters – and the reader – off the scent of the killer.

Thursday, 17 March 2022

 

Book review: Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter by Lizzie Pook [blog tour]


It's 1896 when Eliza Brightwell's father goes missing one night from his boat, disappearing without a trace. He's a beloved pearler in the town of Bannin Bay in Western Australia; his supposed murder causing speculation amidst the townspeople, and an innocent man is soon hunted for the deed, pursuit and blamed just because of the colour of his skin. When Eliza's brother disappears to settle the family affairs, she's left alone with the unrest brewing in Bannin Bay. Convinced her father is still alive, and the jailed Balarri is an innocent man, she realises that the only way to get to the bottom of the truth is if she'd seek it out herself. 

Monday, 14 March 2022

 

Book review: The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd [blog tour]


Who doesn't love a good map? Even in the age of sat nav and mobile phones giving us very precise directions about which turns to take, there is still a place for physical maps in the world. The average person may not be using them frequently in their everyday lives anymore, but folding out a map and physically tracing directions has a certain kind of transportive magic to it, doesn't it? That's the premise of The Cartographers, sort of. 

Friday, 11 March 2022

 

Book review: The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake [blog tour]


Imagine that the Library of Alexandria still existed; within its walls housing the original texts and scriptures that were thought to be lost forever. It would hold an endless amount of knowledge beyond our wildest imaginations, from the original musings from Roman philosophers through to the seemingly impossible, teetering on the edge of myths and magic. And now imagine that the library forms the heart of a secret society that binds together some of the most powerful and influential people in the world – and you're tapped to join. An invitation like that sounds pretty irresistible doesn't it? It certainly does to the six people who are chosen for this decade's initiation class into the society...

Friday, 4 March 2022

 

Book review: The Embroidered Book by Kate Heartfield [blog tour]


I love a good historical fiction read with a fantastical element. So when I first heard about The Embroidered Book by Kate Heartfield – a story about Marie Antoinette and magic – I was immediately intrigued. And it didn't disappoint. The novel details a rich and complex part of European history and deftly intersperses it with layers of magic and illusion unlike anything else I've ever read.  

Tuesday, 1 March 2022

 

Book review: Reputation by Sarah Vaughan [blog tour]


If I see a new book coming out by author Sarah Vaughan, I'm instantly interested – no matter what it's about. I already thoroughly enjoyed her women's fiction novel The Art of Baking Blind (and even interviewed her about it), but was absolutely blown-away by political courtroom thriller Anatomy of a Scandal (for which I interviewed her again) – which is launching as a TV-series on Netflix next month. Yes, it's that good that even Netflix wants in on it. Needless to say, I am thrilled to be a part of the blog tour for her latest novel: Reputation, which is coming out on Thursday. 

Wednesday, 16 February 2022

 

Book review: The Staycation by Cressida McLaughlin [blog tour]


Who would've thought just a few years ago that 'staycation' would become such a normal part of our everyday vocabulary? With lockdowns, continuously changing travel restrictions, and uncertainties, it's been a lifeline for many to still get that holiday feeling amidst all the pandemic craziness. Personally, I love a staycation – always have. I'm usually super busy with work and life, so getting to relish some downtime in my own space, is something I treasure a lot. But what if the 'staycation' is a forced one in a hotel overseas, because you're recovering from an accident? Or what if it's the only way to go on holiday because you're afraid of travelling? That's the premise of this new romantic comedy by Cressida McLaughlin

Monday, 7 February 2022

 

Book review: The Language of Food by Annabel Abbs [blog tour]


You know when you read a book (in one sitting) that is so good that you immediately have to message everyone you know who has ever picked up a book in their life that they immediately need to read it? That's The Language of Food by Annabel Abbs for me. I was mildly interested in it because of that stunning cover and the fact that it's a historical fiction with a foodie twist, but never did I think I would fall in love with it as much as I did. But I have, and I will warn you now that I will continue banging on about how amazing this novel is for the remainder of 2022. 

Monday, 31 January 2022

 

3 new must-read murder mystery books for Agatha Christie fans


I'm not sure why there is a bumper of new book releases on the third Thursday in January. Perhaps the publishers have unanimously decided we all needed a pick-me-up during this dreary time (and they're not wrong). Either way, earlier this month more than a dozen new books were published that have been on my much-anticipated list of new releases for 2022 – and three of those were murder mysteries that are perfect reads for fans of classic Agatha Christie whodunnits. 

Monday, 24 January 2022

 

Book review: The Maid by Nita Prose [blog tour]


Happy New Year! I took a break on here during the holidays as I was with my family in the Netherlands for over a month, away from all my books, but I'm back now and ready to get stuck in. I've only been in the U.K. for two weeks but I was so excited about all the new books that were waiting for me (both upcoming releases and those I bought online in the end of year sales) that I've already raced through four incredible new reads, including The Maid. In 2021, I got really into murder mystery reads, and while they were mostly of the classic Agatha Christie style variety, Nita Prose how done a fantastic job creating a compelling contemporary story with this 'cosy crime' vibe.