Monday, 20 November 2017

 

Getting Festive With Maplin Electronics


I'm a huge Christmas geek and if I get an invite for anything with a festive angle, I'm in. And so with the promise of getting a sneak peek at some of the most exciting tech and toys for the holiday season – and the lure of a mince pie, or two – I set out for Maplin's headquarters last week. While it may have been the seasonal fun that captured my interest initially, it was fab gadgets such as a mini chocolate fountain (yes, it is as divine as it sounds), that have made my wish list a lot longer in the past week.

Friday, 17 November 2017

 

Aladdin at The Prince Edward Theatre


I was eight years old when Disney released Aladdin and I fell utterly in love with it; from Aladdin's cheeky antics to the glittering Cave of Wonders and from his adorable animal side-kick Abu to the Genie's impressive dance skills. It being a much-loved classic from my childhood I wasn't too sure how much I'd enjoy a theatrical adaptation and whether it'd live up to my memories. However, I needn't have worried as the musical version currently threading the boards in London takes some of the best elements from the animation, and turns it into its own dazzling spectacle.

Wednesday, 15 November 2017

 

5 Books to Cosy Up With on Cold Winter Nights


A few months ago I wrote about 5 Books to Curl Up With in Autumn, which was filled with reads that matched the chill and creepiness of the season. As the days are getting even colder and darker, the time has come for a follow-up with my top picks for the frosty winter months ahead. These are books that evoke the feeling of freezing with snowy landscapes, as well as a dash of heartwarming kindness thrown in to reflect the season of sharing. So grab your cosiest flannel PJs, fluffy bed socks and a fleece blanket as it's time to hibernate with a bunch of wintery reading delights.

Monday, 13 November 2017

 

Backpack Flashback: Let's Start at the Beginning...

Back in 2005, before travel blogging (or any kind of blogging as a career, really) was a thing, I started a Livejournal account to keep my friends and family back home updated on where in the world I was and the wonderful things I saw and explored along the way. I lived in Canada for a year, Australia for another, went to New Zealand for six weeks and hit up some places in Asia and the US too. It was an incredible, life-changing experience.

Friday, 10 November 2017

 

Top Picks From Transworld's Debut Fiction Showcase


Transworld (part of Penguin Random House) was one of the first publishers to ever invite me to a book event all the way back in 2013, and I have been a big fan of their diverse list since. I've reviewed a ton of their women's fiction books for Novelicious throughout the years and even picked up a thriller or two (which I don't tend to read very much normally). However, most exciting I've found reading new voices and their annual Debut Fiction Showcase provides the perfect opportunity to discover what's coming up next.

Wednesday, 8 November 2017

 

What I Read in October 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

After September's incredible selection of reads, in October when I was looking at my TBR I found it harder to decide on what to pick up next and some books I did end up choosing still didn't grab me quite as much. I did read a variety of genres to mix things up, which helped a little bit to get excited about my chosen reads again. My two absolute favourites in October were the excellent Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman and non-fiction title Why the Dutch Are Different by Ben Coates.

Monday, 6 November 2017

 

A Tale as Old as Time Afternoon Tea at The Town House

Themed afternoon teas are all the rage right now. Whether you'd like to try something autumnal or a touch of Wonderland, there is an afternoon tea to suit every mood. The latest one to join the ranks is the A Tale as Old as Time afternoon tea at Town House (though this isn't the first one to take inspiration from Disney's Beauty and the Beast I've tried), which was a particularly well-thought out menu with intricate details of the classic animated film reflected both in the food choices and the place setting. We even had the real Mrs Potts and Chip looking on while we tried 'the grey stuff', alongside Lumiere lighting our table and an adorable little edible Cogsworth as a part of the sweets selection.

Friday, 3 November 2017

 

Pokémon the Movie: I Choose You!


When Pokémon GO took over the world last year I got pretty addicted to it. I wasn't super familiar with the franchise outside of watching the anime when I was younger, but the clever way in which it let players explore real-world locations, combined with the competitive video game element, was right up my street. The only reason my addiction lasted for just a month is that a crash in the game locked me out of my account and I couldn't be bothered to start again from scratch. I am, however, still interested in it (I even watch YouTubers playing it online, still) so when I heard about the new Pokémon movie exploring that same world and characters I was keen to check it out.

Wednesday, 1 November 2017

 

Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller [blog tour]

I have been really fortunate with the books I've recently read as they've all been incredible. You know how sometimes nothing really grabs your attention and you end up in a bit of a reading slump? I have been experiencing the exact opposite this past month and Otherworld was another winner. It was a proper geekfest with incredibly intriguing world-building that had me thoroughly hooked throughout. I'm normally not much of a sci-fi reader, but after discovering the imaginative world hiding within the pages of this book I'm definitely keen to explore the genre more.

Monday, 30 October 2017

 

A Book Lover's Guide to Literary Edinburgh


I can't believe it's been four months since I was in Edinburgh, I really don't know where my time has gone! One of the things I have been planning since I arrived back, is a comprehensive guide to literary Edinburgh, combining all the places I visited that have a connection to an author, novel or reading in general. It's a pretty extensive list, but I managed to do all of the below (and then some) during my long weekend in this beautiful Scottish city – and I definitely recommend checking it all out if you can for a proper geekfest of the bookish variety.

Friday, 27 October 2017

 

Annie the Musical at Piccadilly Theatre


When I went on holiday to New York City a few years ago, my friend and I ended up seeing more shows during our stay than days we were actually in the city – and one of them was Annie the Musical. It's a film I always loved growing up and I was excited to see it on stage. A few years down the line, however, that was probably the least memorable musical we saw that holiday and so when it made a comeback in London I was keen to check it out, hoping the UK production would dazzle me more than the US one had done.

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

 

Mr. Dickens and His Carol by Samantha Silva


It may only 'just' be October but the festive season is less than two months away, so it's no longer too early to talk about Christmas, right? I mean, I've started buying my gifts for friends and family, and I may just throw in a cheeky listen of Josh Groban's Noel this weekend (the weather is definitely getting cold enough to warrant it). Amid the browsing of Christmas decorations and wish lists online it was inevitable I'd pick up a seasonal read this month as well, which very suitably was Dickens-themed.

Monday, 23 October 2017

 

How to Spend an Autumnal Day in London


Last October I was in Vancouver and the bright autumnal shades were out in full force. Spending this season in London isn't quite basked in the same kind of colourful scenery, however there are plenty of autumnal things you can see and do in the English capital as well as I have discovered in recent weeks. If you're also looking to make the most of the autumn time in London, here are my top tips for the best seasonal outings in the city!

Monday, 16 October 2017

 

Autumn Afternoon Tea at Emmeline's Lounge, Conrad London St. James


I have mentioned many a times before that autumn is my favourite season, and with the leaves turning beautifully bright again my friend Laura and I planned a proper autumnal day in London last weekend. I'm posting a blog on all things autumn you can enjoy in the city soon, but one of the things we did was so cool (and photogenic) that it deserves its own post: Autumn Afternoon Tea at Emmeline's Lounge in the Conrad London St. James.

Friday, 13 October 2017

 

Ink at The Duke of York's Theatre


Despite having a degree in print journalism, with digital having taken the world by storm this century I am painfully ignorant when it comes to the history of the print press, especially the British one as I grew up in the Netherlands. However, I am fascinated by the origins of Fleet Street and so Ink, detailing the history of one of the UK's biggest and most popular newspapers, was the perfect opportunity to learn more. What I didn't expect though, was quite how gripped I'd be by this fast-paced drama, which was as brilliant in its writing as it was in its execution.

Monday, 9 October 2017

 

Eye Test at David Clulow Opticians and New Glasses!


I have a confession to make. I have been living in the UK for over seven years (where has the time gone?!) but I still go to my opticians back in the Netherlands for eye checks and new glasses every time I am back home. I always find it a reassuring feeling to visit someone who has known my glasses history for many years and who I know provides quality service and products – and here in the UK the cheaper brands you see pop up on every high street never appealed to me. However, I recently discovered David Clulow opticians, which while having multiple stores across the country, felt as personal as my family-owned opticians back home.

Friday, 6 October 2017

 

My May – September 2017 favourites


In my last favourites post I said I would return to monthly round-ups didn't I? Well, I absolutely failed at that one... It's not that there weren't any things to enjoy, but with work and life still being crazy busy I haven't had as much time on the weekends for blogging and taking photos as I would've liked so this is one series that has suffered as a result. I will try to do better the rest of the year (try being the operative word here), but for now here are some things I've thoroughly enjoyed recently, from an autumnal hand soap and a cosy scented candle to charcoal toothpaste tabs and my old Nintendo DS, which I've rediscovered.

Thursday, 5 October 2017

 

Flashdance at New Wimbledon Theatre [UK tour]


As a young teen I was obsessed with 80s musicals, especially the TV adaptation of Fame which received steady reruns throughout the 90s and early 2000s in the Netherlands. However, despite watching all of the classics, one movie that I somehow never saw was Flashdance. It was a story I thought at the time wasn't very interesting and so I never made the effort to seek it out. Fast-forward a few decades and a musical adaptation has come to London. On a whim I decided to check it out and I fell head over heels in love with the stunning choreography, catchy soundtrack and cheesy but totally captivating love story at the heart of the show. 'Oh what a feeling' to discover a new musical love!

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

 

What I Read in September 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

I'm not sure if I have just been incredibly lucky or if I've become more selective with the novels I choose to read, but whatever the reason September was a stellar bookish month in which I only read novels that I absolutely loved (seriously, 4 and 5 stars  across the board!). It's hard to pick favourites from such an excellent bunch but if I must narrow it down, I have to shout-out meta-fictional murder mystery The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz, gaming sci-fi Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller, wondrous children's fantasy Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend, and the inspiring The Little Book of Lykke by Meik Wiking. 

Monday, 2 October 2017

 

Monday Inspiration From the Founder of kikki-K


Swedish stationery brand kiki-K is a blogger's dream. Adorned with gold accents, polka dot detailing and pastel colours, the ranges are not only right up this stationery lover's street, but they also make a gorgeous addition to any Instagram or blog photo. What I love most about the brand though are the empowering messages on their products and the thought that goes into helping people dream, do, enjoy and share. And these principles come straight from kiki-K founder Kristina Karlsson, who at an event in London last week shared her inspiring story to making kiki-K the success it is today.

Friday, 29 September 2017

 

Highlights From the Bloggers Festival 2017

Blogging events are the perfect place to connect with like-minded people, be inspired by bloggers who have done something new and exciting in the field, and discover blog-friendly brands to potentially work with. I really enjoyed the Bloggers Festival organised by Scarlett London last year, so when the return of the event was announced my friend Laura and I immediately booked our tickets. I arrived just as it was about to start, allowing little time for networking with other attendees this time around, unfortunately, however I did have the chance to meet some great brands I love to highlight in this post!

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

 

A Shiver of Snow and Sky by Lisa Lueddecke


A Shiver of Snow and Sky has been on my to-read wish list for a very long time and on my to-read shelf for a few months already but since it's not published until October I've been trying to be really good and not read it just yet. It was a hard task but I managed to refrain from cracking the spine until this month and it was definitely worth the wait. Epic and original, it's been a long time since I've been this gripped by a novel.

Monday, 25 September 2017

 

Trying Japanese Biscuits! (Japan Centre Haul)


In the last couple of weeks my Twitter feed has been flooded with people sharing their excitement over the opening of Japan Centre on Panton Street. I initially thought it'd satisfy all my Japan dreams by being stocked with fluffy toys, anime-covered homeware and kawaii galore, but actually it was a supermarket and not even the first London location at that, I'd just been completely out of the loop until now. Nonetheless, I made the most of my visit and stocked up on some Japanese biscuits to try, which were cute, colourful and extremely yummy.

Friday, 22 September 2017

 

Luxury Chocolate Workshop at MyChocolate With Red Letter Days


Chocolate is most definitely in my list of favourite c-things (alongside Canada, cheese and Christmas). Whether a solid bar to nibble on, a spread to upgrade my sandwiches with or a rich liquid to cosy up with on a rainy autumn day; I love my chocolate in all shapes and sizes. However, I don't often stand still by the process that makes all the chocolate I devour so scrumptious. Until I was given the opportunity to attend an actual chocolate making workshop courtesy of Red Letter Days and MyChocolate, where not only we got to make our own truffles, giant chocolate button and cocktail but we learned some nifty facts along the way too. 

Wednesday, 20 September 2017

 

The Loneliest Girl in the Universe by Lauren James


I already teased this gorgeous new YA sci-fi in my recommendations for autumn reads to curl up with this upcoming season, and for a good reason. Out of all the young adult novels I've had the pleasure to read recently this was by far the most interesting and innovative one. Author Lauren James has created a chilling and completely gripping adventure set in the bleakness of space and I was hooked from the very first page and now crave more books like it.

Monday, 18 September 2017

 

5 Books to Curl Up With This Autumn


Some books are perfect for scorching summers and others for the iciness of winter, but today I've compiled a list of 2017 releases for my favourite season of them all: autumn. This time of year is cosy, chilly and with the setting in of the darker days and the arrival of Halloween just a little bit creepy; so the books I've selected are a real mixture going from horrifyingly bleak to heartwarming and cosy. But they all have one thing in common: they're great to curl up with while enjoying a hot drink and burning a scented candle to set the mood.

Friday, 15 September 2017

 

Kinky Boots at the Adelphi Theatre

I had the pleasure of seeing Kinky Boots for the first time on Broadway among an audience of its creatives such as Harvey Fierstein and Cyndi Lauper in the week before it swept the Tony's by winning six of the thirteen categories it was nominated in, including Best Musical – it was a memorable experience. The show strutted into the West End in 2015 and while it's taken a little while to find its feet (I wasn't as blown away by the original West End cast back then as I was by the Broadway one), it has really managed to carve out a 'kinky' niche for itself in London.

Wednesday, 13 September 2017

 

Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Seek by Anthony O'Neill [blog tour]


I grew up on classic tales such as The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Treasure Island, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oliver Twist, and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. While I may not have read these tales in many years, I have fond memories devouring them and of the adventures and the depictions of historic times within the USA and UK within their pages. I'm always interested in exploring new cinematic adaptations but what doesn't happen often is getting the chance to return to the bookish setting for a whole new story. Until now, with the release of a sequel to Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

Tuesday, 12 September 2017

 

The Little Book of Lykke by Meik Wiking [blog tour]


As soon as it hit September the skies started to weep; a miserable way to commence the changing of the seasons. The days are getting shorter and darker, and it's so very easy to get pulled back into the routine and stresses of school and work, the quieter and more relaxing holiday period disappearing into a distant memory. I for one actually prefer the colder seasons, but I too got dragged back into the rut of work and it sometimes can be hard to find enjoyable moments to look forward to. The Little Book of Lykke has been the perfect antidote for me these past few weeks; its sunny exterior and positive contents providing inspiring moments of happiness.

Monday, 11 September 2017

 

Literary Edinburgh: Afternoon Tea at Colonnades in the Signet Library


It's been a while seen my last travel post because life has been crazy busy, but I am finally continuing with my Edinburgh series! As this blog started out as a book one I always love it when I can write posts with a literary connection and my Scottish getaway was filled with bookish inspiration. One of the first things I discovered during my research is that you can have afternoon tea in an actual library, how cool is that? We of course had stop by for a visit and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Not only were our surroundings in the Signet Library stunning, but the afternoon tea delights on offer were as scrumptious as they were inspired.

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

 

What I Read in August 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

After reading a massive eleven books in July, August was a bit of a quieter month as my reading high halted. My siblings stayed with me for two weeks out of the four meaning I wasn't commuting by myself, diminishing my reading time to the few longer train journeys we took out to Brighton and Oxford. Still, out of the six books I did manage to finish in August, five were 4-star reads which wasn't bad at all. My favourites this past month were YA alien invasion sci-fi I Am Traitor by Sif Sigmarsdóttir and magical fantasy epic A Shiver of Snow and Sky by Lisa Lueddecke.

Monday, 4 September 2017

 

How to Spend a Rainy Day at London Zoo

London Zoo is the perfect summer holiday outing, strolling through the park with an ice cream in hand with friends or family while admiring the exotic animals is pretty idyllic. But what if it rains all day and some of the animals are in hiding? When we went for a visit last week it was the one miserable day sandwiched between 28 degrees summery ones, but that didn't stop us from exploring London Zoo and making the most of it; we just had to be a bit creative (and no, this didn't include a swim with the penguins, though by the end of the day we did slightly look like we had done just that...).

Tuesday, 29 August 2017

 

The Glow of Fallen Stars (Ventura Saga #2) by Kate Ling


Last year I joined my friend Laura at the Books With a Bite blogger evening, where YA and children's teams across the Hachette Group presented some of their most exciting upcoming titles. One of the books that came on my radar during the evening was The Loneliness of Distant Beings, a debut by UK author Kate King. The space opera adventure sounded both intriguing and romantic, and I really enjoyed it. So I was very excited when I was unexpectedly sent a copy of the sequel, The Glow of Fallen Stars.

Wednesday, 23 August 2017

 

I Am Traitor by Sif Sigmarsdóttir


They say you shouldn't judge a book by its cover but surely I'm not the only one who gets pulled in by a stunning design? I rarely read science fiction novels, and if I do they're more on the post-apocalyptic / dystopian side of things, they almost never are about alien invasions. But the striking red cross on top of the otherwise monochrome cover art was so eye-catching that from the moment I saw I Am Traitor, I was bought in and it was calling me from my to-read shelves so much that it magically made its way to the top of my to-read pile just days after I got my copy.

Friday, 18 August 2017

 

13 The Musical at Ambassadors Theatre


Photo credit: Roy Tan
I first became aware of 13 The Musical back in 2012 when the National Youth Music Theatre performed songs from the show at West End Live and I was instantly hooked. The tunes by Jason Robert Brown (of The Last 5 Years, Honeymoon in Vegas, Songs for a New World fame) were immensely catchy and I've been keen to see a full version of this musical ever since. And I finally got a chance to do so this week with the British Theatre Academy's incredible West End version comprised of a mega-talented cast of young performers. Combined with the funny book and excellent score it makes this production an absolute must-see.

Wednesday, 16 August 2017

 

The Lustre of Lost Things by Sophie Chen Keller


Sometimes you're in the mood for a feel-good read to take you away from the stresses of every day life – and The Lustre of Lost Things is just the novel to fit this purpose. It is a wondrous tale filled with eclectic characters and magical realism, bringing the dark and greyness of New York City alive through the imagination of a young boy on the adventure of a lifetime. Sophie Chen Keller's story is whimsical and delightful, the perfect anecdote to all the horrible things currently happening in the world.

Friday, 11 August 2017

 

Plan52 escape room at clueQuest


Ever since trying my very first escape room in Canada last year I've loved this strategic adventure game where you have to put your puzzling skills to the ultimate test to uncover a mystery and (as the name may give away) escape from a locked room – usually several consecutive ones, where each room gets just a little trickier than the one before. It's an activity that has really gathered popularity in recent years with a variety of adventures popping up across the UK capital too and this week I had the chance to try the first game at clueQuest near King's Cross: Plan 52.

Wednesday, 9 August 2017

 

Moonrise by Sarah Crossan


The mesmerising One by Sarah Crossan was my absolute favourite book from 2015. Not only was her use of verse unique and beautiful, adding another level of depth to the book, but the story of conjoined twins Grace and Tippi was also a stunning mixture of normal teenage angst and heart-wrenching extra-ordinary circumstances. It certainly was a young adult novel like no other I had read before (or since) and she has captured that same combination of elegantly written verse and a highly original story in her new novel coming out next month: Moonrise.

Monday, 7 August 2017

 

An Immersive Night In With Sony and Currys PC World


Last month I had the pleasure of joining Sony and Currys PC World for an immersive night in at a vibrant London location, which meant a night of murder mystery mayhem, movie-themed cocktails and finger food, and dazzling acrobatics to showcase how you can create an epic cinematic experience from the comfort of your own home (or in very beautiful and cosy event space that I now want to move into!).

Wednesday, 2 August 2017

 

What I Read in July 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

Wow, July was a whirlwind reading month. I went to Edinburgh for a long weekend, which means I was on trains for a good ten hours providing plenty of reading time, and I picked up quite a few quick reads in the past month as well – so I ended up reading eleven books in total! In an attempt to finally read some of the ones that have been gathering dust on my shelves, I've also made a (small) dent in my TBR, which feels awesome, though being less picky did mean that I read three books I rated with just 2 stars and another I gave 2.5 stars. To balance that out though, I got lost in the magical worlds of Lost Boy by Christina Henry and Moonrise by Sarah Crossan, both of which were so incredible that they will likely make my top 10 of favourite books for all of 2017. 

Wednesday, 26 July 2017

 

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt


The first time I heard about Truth or Dare was all the way back in December, at the Walker Books YA showcase. Not much was revealed about the book just yet other than that it would look at the question: 'what does it take to be brave?', but the intriguing way Non Pratt talked about her writing – and the enthusiasm from everyone around me about this author already had me sold on this young adult title.

Monday, 24 July 2017

 

The Blues Brothers Summer Special at The Hippodrome


The Blues Brothers is a cult classic for a reason. Dan Aykroyd and John Belushi's portrayals of brothers Jake and Elwood on the run from the cops, set against a back drop of catchy jazz and blues tunes, is one I've rewatched many times on rainy Sunday afternoons. They were criminals, sure, but they were also multi-talented showmen, and their charismatic performances were the heart and soul of the film. And with an extended set list and subtle nods back to the origin story, The Blues Brothers Summer Special at the Hippodrome could be one of those shows the famous band performed during their career.

Friday, 21 July 2017

 

Dinner at the Bite Me Burger Co. Pop Up in Holborn


I love foodie pop-ups and one of the newest to make its way to London is Bite Me Burger Co., which opened in Holborn last month in a temporary residency inside Hong Kong café Cha Chaan Teng and will receive more pop-ups across London, including in Soho and in West London, throughout the summer – in addition to offering deliveries and catering. Bite Me Burger is the brain child of award-winning chef Adam Rawson who made a name for himself as the winner of the Slider Decider competition two consecutive years and, unsurprisingly, sliders are front and centre on the menu.

Wednesday, 19 July 2017

 

Lost Boy by Christina Henry


Adaptations of traditional fairy tales or classic literature have really seen a surge in recent years within YA books especially, and what's particularly notable is how often the same source material has contemporary versions published around the same time – even though the publishing cycle means that the majority would've worked on this separately without knowing about the upcoming releases. Sometimes this is driven by a major movie release (see Beauty and the Beast), and at other times it seems more of a coincidence. I'm loving that Neverland is the latest hype as this is one of my all-time favourite fantasy worlds and now I get to explore it all over again.

Monday, 17 July 2017

 

Literary Edinburgh: Book Sculptures


On my recent visit to Edinburgh, the majority of my plans (unsurprisingly) revolved around books. After all, Edinburgh was named the first City of Literature by UNESCO back in 2004 for a good reason. What I didn't expect, was quite how many bookish things and places I'd come across. Way too many for a single blog post, so rather than cramming them all into one piece, I've split up my bookish Edinburgh guide by: sculptures, people, food, places and book shops. And today I'm kicking it off with the mysterious book sculptures that appeared across the city a few years ago and are now on display in various literary location. 

Friday, 14 July 2017

 

The Daily Prophet Exhibition at House of MinaLima


I love the work by design duo Miraphora Mina and Eduardo Lima (aka MinaLima). They created the incredible fully illustrated Beauty and the Beast and Peter Pan hardbacks I've blogged about before, as well as all the design work for the Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts films (from product packaging to posters and anything in between). They have an awesome shop and exhibition space in London's Soho which I, not gonna lie, frequent. I've blogged about the Harry Potter exhibition before, but they change it every few months so I always try to pop by when I'm in the neighbourhood. After their recent Fantastic Beasts exhibit the focus has now shifted to The Daily Prophet, the newspaper from the wizarding world.

Wednesday, 12 July 2017

 

Interview with Lucy Clarke about Last Seen [blog tour]


If you've been on my blog or social channels before you know that British author Lucy Clarke writes some of my all-time favourite books. I've been journeying across the world with her novels ever since The Sea Sisters back in 2013, and in Last Seen she brings her beautifully descriptive and atmospheric writing to British shores in a gripping missing person's read. I'm delighted to be a part of the blog tour for Lucy's brand-new book today as it gave me the opportunity to ask her about her story settings, writing tips, the highlight of her publishing career to date, and much more.

Monday, 10 July 2017

 

5 Highlights From My Weekend Break in Edinburgh


Last weekend I was in Edinburgh and it was wonderful. I'd been only once before a few years ago and I'd forgotten quite how amazing the city is. With the sun out every day this time, it was even more delightful to wander around the city to explore. I hit up a lot of literary hot-spots for future blog posts (there are SO many bookish things in Edinburgh), in addition to checking out the sights I didn't get a chance to go to last time. The weekend was pretty much non-stop awesomeness and I'll be writing dedicated blog posts about many of the things we did, saw and ate over the coming weeks, but as a teaser here are my top five highlights from the trip.

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

 

What I Read in June 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

I posted my first monthly book round-up in May, which received a lot of nice comments on social channels and on my blog for which many thanks. I loved writing it and I'm glad you guys enjoyed it too, as I'm back today with June's book wrap up! It has been an exceptional reading month with just one 2-star read and the others all 4 stars or more. My favourite books in June were political courtroom thriller Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan, missing person mystery Last Seen by Lucy Clarke, teenage action adventure Never Say Die by Anthony Horowitz and contemporary YA Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index by Julie Israel.

Monday, 3 July 2017

 

A Photo Tour of Colourful Notting Hill


Notting Hill is an iconic part of London. Being the star of a film by the same name and the location of the annual Carnival as well as the famous Portobello Road Market, it's a wonderful area to wander into and explore without having a destination in mind. It's vibrant neighbourhood filled with eclectic shops and a ton of independent places to pick up drinks and snacks to keep you going, making it the perfect place to spend a sunny afternoon. And with its pastel houses, eye-catching street art and flower-covered pubs, it's also very photogenic as the colours pop around every corner.