Friday, 21 July 2017

Dinner at the Bite Me Burger Co. Pop Up in Holborn


I love foodie pop-ups and one of the newest to make its way to London is Bite Me Burger Co., which opened in Holborn last month in a temporary residency inside Hong Kong café Cha Chaan Teng and will receive more pop-ups across London, including in Soho and in West London, throughout the summer – in addition to offering deliveries and catering. Bite Me Burger is the brain child of award-winning chef Adam Rawson who made a name for himself as the winner of the Slider Decider competition two consecutive years and, unsurprisingly, sliders are front and centre on the menu.

Wednesday, 19 July 2017

Lost Boy by Christina Henry


Adaptations of traditional fairy tales or classic literature have really seen a surge in recent years within YA books especially, and what's particularly notable is how often the same source material has contemporary versions published around the same time – even though the publishing cycle means that the majority would've worked on this separately without knowing about the upcoming releases. Sometimes this is driven by a major movie release (see Beauty and the Beast), and at other times it seems more of a coincidence. I'm loving that Neverland is the latest hype as this is one of my all-time favourite fantasy worlds and now I get to explore it all over again.

Monday, 17 July 2017

A Book Lover's Guide to Literary Edinburgh #1: Book Sculptures


On my recent visit to Edinburgh, the majority of my plans (unsurprisingly) revolved around books. After all, Edinburgh was named the first City of Literature by UNESCO back in 2004 for a good reason. What I didn't expect, was quite how many bookish things and places I'd come across. Way too many for a single blog post, so rather than cramming them all into one piece, I've split up my bookish Edinburgh guide by: sculptures, people, food, places and book shops. And today I'm kicking it off with the mysterious book sculptures that appeared across the city a few years ago and are now on display in various literary location. 

Friday, 14 July 2017

The Daily Prophet Exhibition at House of MinaLima


I love the work by design duo Miraphora Mina and Eduardo Lima (aka MinaLima). They created the incredible fully illustrated Beauty and the Beast and Peter Pan hardbacks I've blogged about before, as well as all the design work for the Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts films (from product packaging to posters and anything in between). They have an awesome shop and exhibition space in London's Soho which I, not gonna lie, frequent. I've blogged about the Harry Potter exhibition before, but they change it every few months so I always try to pop by when I'm in the neighbourhood. After their recent Fantastic Beasts exhibit the focus has now shifted to The Daily Prophet, the newspaper from the wizarding world.

Wednesday, 12 July 2017

Interview with Lucy Clarke about Last Seen [blog tour]


If you've been on my blog or social channels before you know that British author Lucy Clarke writes some of my all-time favourite books. I've been journeying across the world with her novels ever since The Sea Sisters back in 2013, and in Last Seen she brings her beautifully descriptive and atmospheric writing to British shores in a gripping missing person's read. I'm delighted to be a part of the blog tour for Lucy's brand-new book today as it gave me the opportunity to ask her about her story settings, writing tips, the highlight of her publishing career to date, and much more.

Monday, 10 July 2017

5 Highlights From My Weekend Break in Edinburgh


Last weekend I was in Edinburgh and it was wonderful. I'd been only once before a few years ago and I'd forgotten quite how amazing the city is. With the sun out every day this time, it was even more delightful to wander around the city to explore. I hit up a lot of literary hot-spots for future blog posts (there are SO many bookish things in Edinburgh), in addition to checking out the sights I didn't get a chance to go to last time. The weekend was pretty much non-stop awesomeness and I'll be writing dedicated blog posts about many of the things we did, saw and ate over the coming weeks, but as a teaser here are my top five highlights from the trip.

Wednesday, 5 July 2017

What I Read in June 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

I posted my first monthly book round-up in May, which received a lot of nice comments on social channels and on my blog for which many thanks. I loved writing it and I'm glad you guys enjoyed it too, as I'm back today with June's book wrap up! It has been an exceptional reading month with just one 2-star read and the others all 4 stars or more. My favourite books in June were political courtroom thriller Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan, missing person mystery Last Seen by Lucy Clarke, teenage action adventure Never Say Die by Anthony Horowitz and contemporary YA Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index by Julie Israel.

Monday, 3 July 2017

A Photo Tour of Colourful Notting Hill


Notting Hill is an iconic part of London. Being the star of a film by the same name and the location of the annual Carnival as well as the famous Portobello Road Market, it's a wonderful area to wander into and explore without having a destination in mind. It's vibrant neighbourhood filled with eclectic shops and a ton of independent places to pick up drinks and snacks to keep you going, making it the perfect place to spend a sunny afternoon. And with its pastel houses, eye-catching street art and flower-covered pubs, it's also very photogenic as the colours pop around every corner.

Friday, 30 June 2017

Candy Crush Board Game Café Pop Up


One of the things I love about London is that there is always something new and exciting to explore, whether it be a new theatre show, festival, exhibition or a discovery of the food variety. Particularly fun to check out are temporary pop-ups, usually trials for a concept or shop that only run for a few weeks to a few months. Though sometimes you have to be especially quick to not miss out as a pop up can last for only a few days! That was the case with the Candy Crush Board Game Café earlier this month, which was four floors of candy-coloured gaming fun on Greek Street in Soho that was open for just two days – and we of course had to check it out.

Wednesday, 28 June 2017

Last Seen by Lucy Clarke


Ever since reading her debut The Sea Sisters (a Richard & Judy Book Club pick) back in 2013 I've been a fan of Lucy Clarke's novels, always eagerly anticipating the next one. With A Single Breath and Blue I travelled the world through Lucy's vivid description of the many exotic locations depicted within the pages. Each book was a completely different adventure, their only constant being the pull of the sea a the heart of stories. And never more so than in her latest book; Last Seen.

Monday, 26 June 2017

My Plans for a Weekend Break in Edinburgh


A few years ago I made my first visit to beautiful Edinburgh and I loved everything about it; the architecture and sights, the scrumptious food, the castle looking out over the city, and most of all the many literary spots I came across during our wanderings. I've been meaning to go back to the city ever since for further explorations but as always life and work got in the way. Until a very good train deal came along (London to Edinburgh for just £28 return, yes please), finally prompting us to book another trip. With the visit having been in my calendar for quite some time now, I've been doing lots of research into what to see, do and eat during our long weekend this Friday until next Monday to make the most of our break.

Friday, 23 June 2017

The Da Vinci Exploration Escape Room at Escape Land


Escape rooms – where a team is locked in a room filled with puzzles and clues to help them escape – have become all the rage in the last year or so and I had my first encounter on my trip to Vancouver in October. I had an absolute blast trying to solve the riddles in that archeology/Indiana Jones-inspired room (even though we filled miserably) and had been itching to try it again, now knowing what I was getting myself in for and hopefully being better at spotting clues. So when the opportunity came up to try the Da Vinci Exploration at Escape Land in London, I jumped on the chance.

Wednesday, 21 June 2017

Exciting New Book Releases From HarperFiction


I do love a good book event, getting a sneak peek at upcoming titles while connecting in person with the publishers I regularly communicate with over email to discuss book reviews, author interviews, and other bookish fun? Yes, please! So when my friend Laura was invited to a HarperFiction event last month and she kindly asked me to come along, I of course said 'yes' as soon as the invite hit my inbox! HarperFiction (a division of HarperCollins) publishes some of my favourite authors, including Lindsey Kelk, Alex Brown, Lucy Clarke and Cressida McLaughlin – and there are lots of goodies in the publishing calendar from them and others (highlights below).

Monday, 19 June 2017

Inspirational Street Art – A Photo Tour of the Bees Buzzing Around Manchester


The worker bee has been a symbol for Manchester dating back to the Industrial Revolution and can be found on bins, Town Hall, and even the city's Coat of Arms. So it's unsurprising that this Mancunian symbol has been popping up in new street art across the city to show its strength and unity in the aftermath of the horrifying attack in Manchester Arena last month. When I visited Manchester last weekend I saw many of the beautiful works by graffiti artists such as Qubek, alongside touching drawings from children and even an anonymous Canadian chalk painting showcasing global solidarity for the people of Manchester ♥

Wednesday, 14 June 2017

The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig

First you wait for ages for a swashbuckling time travel YA adventure to come along, and then two arrive at once. And I'm loving it. While I don't read many series nowadays because I lack the patience to wait the agonising publishing gap for the next one, both Alexandra Bracken's Passenger and Heidi Heilig's The Girl From Everywhere pulled me into their magical worlds through their innovative settings, characters and stories that I happily waited a year for their second installments, and I wasn't disappointed.

Monday, 12 June 2017

World Burger Tour Launch at Hard Rock Cafe London


Last week I made my first visit to the London branch of The Hard Rock Cafe (well... its Back Room location just across the road) for the launch of their brand new World Burger Tour menu. Offering four unique burgers with flavours from across the globe, and matching cocktails to boot, this is a super fun addition to their existing offerings for any burger lovers who want to try something new and unique.

Wednesday, 7 June 2017

Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly

Hot Key Books has been one of my favourite publishers for years and Stephanie Tromly's novels are still the most unexpectedly delightful discovery from their list. They unfortunately aren't books that are everywhere in the media and on blogs (though they should be), so the only way I found out about them to begin with is by following the HKB social accounts, and I am so glad that I did because Tromly's books are now some of my favourites in the young adult genre. 

Monday, 5 June 2017

Brunch at Brownies & downieS in Emmen, Netherlands


I love checking out places to eat that are just a tad different and so on my visit home last week I had to pop into Brownies & downieS, which serves a huge selection of delicious lunchroom and coffee shop food and drinks. The thing that makes them stand out from the crowd (in addition to their excellent food, of course)? Many of the staff members, from waiting staff to the chefs creating beautifully plated dishes in the kitchen, have intellectual disabilities and the restaurant provides training opportunities and jobs for them which are often hard to come by in the hospitality sector. Hence its hugely catchy and fun name.

Wednesday, 31 May 2017

What I Read in May 2017 – Wrap Up & Mini Reviews

While I post book reviews on this blog, I actually read more in a month than I can cover in a weekly review and I thought it was high time to start with monthly reading round-ups, so all the books I've had the pleasure to enjoy that month can be spotlighted on here! This post marks the first monthly wrap up and is a real mix of adult reads (fiction and non-fiction), young adult and even children's. Out of the books I read in May my favourites were When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi and Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly ♥

Monday, 29 May 2017

Trying Healthy Drinks at 42 Juice in Brighton


I've been really into fresh fruit and veg juices lately, especially ginger shots and any combination that has carrot and orange in it. I love smoothies too and I make those at home but for juices I don't have the right equipment (yet). So I'm always on the look-out for new juice places to try out and I heard great things about 42 Juice in Brighton. Not only do they serve a huge selection of cold-pressed juices, freshly prepared smoothies, shots, and alkaline waters, but their interior is super Instagrammable too. ♥

Friday, 26 May 2017

I Love Holland: Gezelligheid


Ages ago I promised you more posts on the Netherlands, and then life happened... oops. But I finally have some blogs planned for you guys and since I'm visiting my family again for a good week from tomorrow I thought it'd be a perfect opportunity to start with gezelligheid. You've likely heard about the Danish word hygge in the past year and gezelligheid is similar (though better, of course, ssshhh) as it describes a cosy and homely feeling, atmosphere or past-time and is one of the biggest things I love about being home (in addition to seeing my family). In this blog I highlight the things that define gezelligheid in the Netherlands. 

Monday, 22 May 2017

An Instagram Tour of Oxford


After my Instagram tours of Paris and Brighton, it was inevitable that I would do one of beautiful Oxford as well. The city of colleges, Narnia, Harry Potter, Middle Earth and more bookish greats (which you can read about in my Literary Guide to Oxford) is also called the city of Dreaming Spires and it's easy to see why with the beautiful college buildings seeming to go on forever as you look up and around you ♥ I shared a few of my snapshots on Instagram already but most of these are new, and I hope you enjoy them!

Friday, 19 May 2017

The Addams Family at New Wimbledon Theatre (UK Tour)


I adore the score of The Addams Family musical. It's fun, catchy and makes you instantly want to snap your fingers along to the beat of the music. I've listened to the original Broadway soundtrack tons of times, and may have played the clips on YouTube more times than I can remember. I love the music so much, in fact, that I went out of my way to see an amateur production of the show a few years ago.. it wasn't good. Needless to say I was very excited when a UK tour was announced, because finally I could see a production of this wonderfully cheesy musical that would do the source material justice.

Wednesday, 17 May 2017

A Photo Tour of Wisteria Hysteria in London

If you follow any London-based Instagram accounts you can't have missed the wisteria hysteria sweeping across everyone's photos. This gorgeous purple rain cascading along the walls in mostly West London, not only leaves a gorgeous fragrance in its wake but it also looks incredible pretty (especially when a picture-perfect pastel-pink door peeks through the flowers). The wisteria season is unfortunately almost over already, but if you didn't have time to check it out for yourself don't despair, I spent a sunny Sunday wandering through the Kensington and Notting Hill areas, capturing some of the best #wisteriahysteria moments for you to enjoy.

Monday, 15 May 2017

7 Easy Ways to Boost Your Instagram Engagement – Top Tips & Handy Apps

I've had my Instagram account since the app became available on Android but I never used it for my blog. Instead I posted very irregular random updates of my life that didn't really have any cohesiveness to it. And if there is one buzzword in the Instagram world then it's 'theme', and you should apparently have one to create a clean feed that people want to follow and engage with. With my Twitter account growing quite slowly, a little over a month ago I decided to put my efforts into Instagram instead and see if it'd be worth it. Could I grow this channel to become a valuable addition to my blog? While my audience isn't big, in one month I did grow by over 50% to 500+ followers with an engagement of 20%-30 on each photo. In this post I'll share some of my learnings and useful apps I've found, and I hope they help you grow your Instagram engagement too.

Friday, 12 May 2017

Trying the Gousto Food Box – Is It Worth It?

I love spending time in the kitchen and I cook most of my dinners myself from scratch, but I do sometimes feel I'm making the same dishes over and over again. While I have shelves full of cookery books and I love flicking through them, salivating over the scrumptious imagery within their pages, they rarely inspire me to actually cook outside of my comfort zone right then and there, because I don't have all the necessary ingredients at hand. Gousto perfectly solves that dilemma by not only having enticing food photography on their website and recipe cards, but by also providing you with everything you need to recreate the dishes in one handy box, delivered straight to your door. I'd heard a lot about this foodie subscription service before and I was keen to put them to the test myself. Is cooking with Gousto as effortless and delicious as it sounds?

Thursday, 11 May 2017

Noteworthy by Riley Redgate

I was super impressed by Riley Redgate's debut novel Seven Ways We Lie, which I had the pleasure to review last year. It was a superb contemporary YA read, touching upon many different issues facing young people today and with a diverse cast of characters. It was clever, gripping and hugely relatable, making it not only fun novel for today's teens but also a very important one. So as soon as I heard about Riley's second novel, which would be set in the competitive world of university a cappella competitions, I was sold.

Tuesday, 9 May 2017

Celebrating Women's Fiction & Thriller Authors at HQ


HQ is the latest division from HarperCollins and it's one that I'm very excited to explore. Rather than sticking to a single genre, their list is an eclectic mix of women's fiction, thrillers, non-fiction and young adult, the theme bringing them all together being books that are written exceptionally well. I've already been hearing great things about them, but it wasn't until their first blogger event last week that I had a chance to meet the team and see some of the fabulous new titles they're bringing out soon – or have just published – with my own eyes.

Monday, 8 May 2017

An Instagram Tour of Brighton

A few months ago I posted An Instagram Tour of Paris, which was a fun way to feature a place I had visited without getting lost in a super lengthy blog post (I know I can be wordy at times!). And since I loved my recent visit to Brighton so much it was inevitable that I would do yet another post about this colourful and eclectic seaside city. I figured doing a photographic tour would be perfect to show off the city's Eastern-inspired Royal Pavilion and famous pebble beach, and it would also give me the opportunity to share my Instagram feed with you all as I've been working hard in the last month on creating a beautiful feed and growing my channel. Enjoy! ♥

Friday, 5 May 2017

Behind-the-Scenes at Alice's Adventures Underground at The Vaults


Imagine walking into a wondrous bar where cocktails have jam tarts on the top, the stirrer is a lollipop, and you can have a hearty dose of mock turtle chips or a Jabberwocky burger. Now imagine wading through the pages of a book before you're given the choice between 'eat me' and 'drink me', your decision defining your path for the rest of the fantastical evening. Will you be a rebel, or do you cheer for the Queen of Hearts and all she stands for? There is only one way to find out and that is to go to Alice's Adventures Underground at the Vaults, an imaginative and immerse theatrical experience created by Les Enfants Terrible.

Wednesday, 3 May 2017

The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Last year I made it my mission to read more children's novels again, and my favourite one I read was undoubtedly The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave. It was a novel filled to the brim with magical adventures and girl power. Doused in the same inventive world-building and storytelling as myths and legends, it was an endlessly exciting discovery all while infusing important subjects such as friendship, family and kick-ass female heroines. It deservedly won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, and I was very excited when I was given the opportunity to review Kiran's brand-new novel, The Island at the End of Everything.

Monday, 1 May 2017

A Book Lover's Guide to Literary Oxford

Oxford is steeped in literary history, being the birth place to imaginative places such as Narnia and Middle Earth, and having links to more contemporary reads such as Harry Potter and His Dark Materials too. The big book geek that I am, I of course made it my mission to see as many places in the city of dreaming spires related to literature, from Tolkien's Oxford home right down to what could've been the inspiration for Mr Tumnus to C.S. Lewis. And from the shop where the real Alice from Lewis Carroll's famous Wonderland books bought her sweets, to an impressive dining hall that looks to come straight out of Hogwarts. In fact, much of the gorgeous architecture and surroundings in Oxford look quite fantastical and it's no surprise it was the inspiration for so many imaginative worlds. 

Friday, 28 April 2017

My January - April 2017 Favourites


Even though April is already nearly over, this will be my very first favourites post of 2017, oops. In all fairness though this has been an absolute whirlwind of a year so far. I don't tend to stand still too long by negatives on here when I can but after lots of stresses around family, health and work it's only now I feel I am resurfacing and getting back on track – with my blog and life in general. Because this is 4 months worth of favourites there are a bunch of them in all sort of different categories; from a TV-show addiction (hello Riverdale) to Instagram, and from making smoothies to newly discovered fashion brands. So without further ado, here are my favourites so far of the year (in no particular order, because choosing is hard).

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

A Brunchy Lunch at Redroaster Coffee Co in Brighton

Before hitting up Brighton over the last Bank Holiday weekend with the always lovely Laura Patricia Rose, I'd made a list of places I wanted to visit mainly based on recommendations from fellow bloggers and vloggers. One I'd come across was Redroaster Coffee Co, a café and lunch room that with marbled tables and a leafy green interior, provided the perfect backdrop for some very Instagram-worthy snaps, not to mention a delicious brunch to boot.

Monday, 24 April 2017

9 Places in North America I Really Want to Visit

Growing up, North America was the top of my wish list of places to travel to. Beautiful national parks filled with mountains were beyond my wildest imagination while living in all-flat Netherlands, and the idea of seeing ranches with cowboys, metropolitan cities filled with sky scrapers, and the kind of natural beauties so foreign to me, was the dream. I have since explored some of Canada on my year backpacking there after uni, as well as either coast in the US, but not until the fantastic Trek America blogging event last week, where I had the chance to see four of the US' grand national parks in virtual 360 (so realistic), have I been so very excited to explore more of North America again. There are many places I want to go to (or revisit), but in this post I will highlight the top ones I've never been to before (I'll put them in alphabetical order because I just can't choose my favourite!).

Friday, 21 April 2017

Behind-the-Scenes at Half a Sixpence at the Noël Coward Theatre

I go to the theatre a lot and there are few shows and plays in the West End I have yet to see. However, despite being inside London's glitter playhouses frequently, I don't normally get a chance to glimpse behind the (safety) curtain and see the inner workings of a big West End production. Until this week... I was kindly invited to attend a special media night at the Noël Coward Theatre to see musical Half a Sixpence, with not only a Q&A with the cast beforehand (and a delightful tune by lead Charlie Stemp on the banjo) but even a behind-the-scenes tour afterwards.

Monday, 17 April 2017

10 Hours in Oxford – How to Spend a Day in the City of Dreaming Spires

The travel bug has been itching again recently, and while time and money isn't allowing me to go back to travelling the world like I used to, I've decided to explore the UK again in the meantime. Through day trips and weekend breaks I'm hoping to satisfy the travel craving just enough until I have saved up money and holiday days for a bigger trip. The long weekend over Easter was perfect for my first outings, one of which was to glorious Oxford. I was only in the city of colleges, Tolkien, Alice in Wonderland, dreaming spires, and Harry Potter for 10 hours – but that was plenty of time for a jam-packed day of exploring, and I'd like to share with you my top tips for visiting Oxford in such a short space of time.

Friday, 14 April 2017

Why I Love Visiting Brighton (Again and Again)

It's a Bank Holiday in the UK today – the perfect excuse for a cheeky day trip to get away from all the work stress and feel like I'm going on vacation. One of my absolute staple trips is Brighton, which is just an hour away from Central London by train, making it a quick and affordable getaway. I find myself going back to Brighton time and time again, and in this post I'm highlighting three reasons why I love it so much.

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak

The cover of The Impossible Fortress makes this book seem like a 1960s/1970s housewife romance, but don't be deceived. The pages are packed with fun 80s references and music and the core story is a quirky, geeky, and very charming coming-of-age novel of a 14-year-old boy who dreams to be the next big computer game developer.

Monday, 10 April 2017

Easy Banana & Red Fruit Breakfast Smoothie Recipe

With spring finally here, few things beat a smoothie as a great breakfast to kickstart the day. A smoothie maker has been on my wish list for a very long time yet rather than me getting one for myself (which I should've done a long time ago) it wasn't until I got one for my birthday in February that I finally tried it out. And I have been hooked since! My concoctions so far have all been based on the basic starting off recipe of Greek yoghurt, milk, a fresh banana en frozen food, but I'd like to share with you my journey in experimenting on this blog, starting with the recipe that has become my staple breakfast several times a week.

Friday, 7 April 2017

An American in Paris at the Dominion Theatre


Photo credit: Tristram Kenton

Set in a post World War II Paris, An American in Paris tells the tale of US veteran Jerry (Robert Fairchild) who, after falling under the spell of a mysterious girl he sees on the streets, tears up his ticket home to try to make it as a painter in the French capital instead. He becomes friends with fellow veteran and composer Adam (David Seadon-Young) and the French Henri (Haydn Oakley), who secretly performs as a jazz singer without his family's knowledge.

Wednesday, 5 April 2017

Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined by Danielle Younge-Ullman

Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined was one of the stand-out titles for me at Scholastic's Bloggers' Book Feast earlier this year. The tagline was 'When Ingrid arrives at wilderness camp, she quickly realises there has been a big mistake' and one of the publishers described it as Wild for teens. Now, I've not actually seen that film nor read the book, but I did hear that the main character's journey was a transformative one, and so putting this in a young adult setting had me very intrigued. While this book definitely had elements of wilderness survival (used toilet paper in ziplock bags, you guys!), there was far more to it than that, and travelling the road to self-discovery with Ingrid and the other campers was both difficult and beautiful.

Monday, 3 April 2017

My 5 Favourite Quick & Cheap Day Trips From London

I love London, but sometimes I want to get away from the hustle and bustle and explore somewhere new. While an overseas holiday would be great, there isn't always the time or money for even a weekend break in the UK and day trips provide the perfect opportunity to still satisfy the need of going away, without breaking the bank or go very far. And because I don't drive in the UK, my favourite day trips from London are all just a quick train journey away. With summer just around the corner, these five British locations are the perfect getaways for a a little holiday in your own country.

Friday, 31 March 2017

Wildlife Photographer of the Year at the Natural History Museum

I'm a big fan of nature photography, the closeness to the animals and the impressive landscapes always have me in awe of the beauty we have on this planet. And the annual Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition at the Natural History Museum is one of my favourite staples on the cultural calendar. Now in its 33rd year, out of all the times I've had the pleasure to visit this exhibit, the 2017 edition was the best one yet.

Wednesday, 29 March 2017

Dramarama by E. Lockhart

You guys know that two of my biggest passions in life are books and theatre, and when the two come together (see Matilda the Musical and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, for example) magic happens. It doesn't occur often that it's the other way around though and it's a book that brings all of the stageyness rather than a novel being adapted for the theatre. So when I heard of Dramarama, written by one of my current favourite young adult authors, being set at summer theatre camp I was instantly sold.

Monday, 27 March 2017

Faulty Towers the Dining Experience at Amba Hotel Charing Cross


I'm not normally a fan of immersive theatre. I once was 'picked on' with a card trick during a show and I still break out in cold sweat when I go to anything with audience participation and one of the actors locks eyes with me. However, I grew up on brilliant comedy series Fawlty Towers and I love eating out, so despite normally distancing myself of immersive theatre I was very keen to check out the Faulty Towers Dining Experience. And I am so very glad I did, because this is a fantastic combination of a farce, improvisation and a hearty meal in a stunning location.

Friday, 24 March 2017

Top Museums in Paris – And How to Visit Them for Free

My recent trip to Paris was a whirlwind one, but one thing I made sure not miss out on was the city's incredible offering of museums. The French capital is a paradise for culture vultures and even if you're only a casual museum-goer I'll guarantee you'll be impressed by the diversity these great places have to offer. In this post I'll give you a snapshot tour of my favourites, and I share my top tip to go to the museums and other attractions in Paris completely for free!

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

If you've been following me for a while on here or on social media you will have heard me rave about Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. A lot. As one of my favourite books of 2016, this time travelling, swashbuckling teen adventure was imaginative, fascinating and well-written that despite reading it almost a year ago I'm still thinking about it and recommending it on a regular basis. So of course I was very excited for the second installment to come out!

Monday, 20 March 2017

Highlights From BlogCon London 2017

On Saturday my friend Laura and I ventured over to Scarlett London Digital's #BlogConLDN at the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre in Westminster. I'd recently been to the same location for a work event, so it felt a bit weird returning, but of course it was for a much more fun occasion: a conference specifically designed for bloggers! There were a ton of exhibitors to chat to and lots of inspirational presentations throughout the day, and I'd like to share with you some of my highlights from the experience – including top tips from the talks and my favourite brands!

Friday, 17 March 2017

LMTO's Honeymoon in Vegas at the London Palladium


Photo credit: Nick Rutter

I've been a big fan of the London Musical Theatre Orchestra ever since I was invited to their launch gala in July of last year, and interviewed its founder and principal conductor Freddie Tapner. I loved their concert staging of Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair at Cadogan Hall, and while I was gutted to miss out on Alan Menken's A Christmas Carol during the festive season as I was spending it overseas with my family, I made sure to add their 2017 performance dates to my calendar as soon as they were released so I wouldn't miss another one.