Friday, 27 January 2023

 

Book review: Death Comes to Marlow (The Marlow Murder Club #2) by Robert Thorogood


Seniors solving murders seem to be all the rage again these days. While, of course, it's always delightful to return to the classics, such as Miss Marple, I do have a particular weak spot for more contemporary characters. I'm a BIG fan of Richard Osman's Thursday Murder Club series (see my reviews for books 1 and 2) – and I also thoroughly enjoyed Robert Thorogood's The Marlow Murder Club, which introduced Judith Potts sleuthing away. In the sequel, Death Comes to Marlow, the 77-year-old puzzle-whizz has returned, alongside her friends Suzie and Becks, and a whole new cast of eclectic Marlow residents.  

Friday, 20 January 2023

 

Book review: Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries by Heather Fawcett [blog tour]


Give that I've been a book fairy for the past 5+ years, of course I couldn't resist this novel, which combines my love for fairy tales with, well, books. The title may sound non-fiction, but this is very much a fictional tale, filled with imaginative world-building and a romance to boot. 

Thursday, 19 January 2023

 

Theatre review: George Takei's Allegiance at Charing Cross Theatre


American actor George Takei is best-known for originating the role of Sulu in the television series Star Trek in the 1960. But not many know the story of the man behind the iconic sci-fi character. As a Japanese American, George and his family were sent to an internment camp during the second World War alongside over 125,000 other Japanese people living in the U.S. 

Tuesday, 17 January 2023

 

Book review: The Mysterious Case of the Alperton Angels by Janice Hallett [blog tour]


I am a HUGE fan of Janice Hallett's clever murder mystery novels. They're imaginatively formatted, filled with great characters and even greater puzzels, and – most importantly – have a stonkin' good story at the heart of them. To celebrate her latest book in style, I'm thrilled to be part of the official blog tour, where I was challenged to turn my hand to writing my review in a different format, so here goes...

Monday, 5 December 2022

 

Book review: The Complete Fairy Stories of Oscar Wilde [blog tour]


I love a good fairy tale; whether it's a creepy classic (Brothers Grimm, I'm looking at you), a kids-friendly Disney adaptation, a retelling challenging traditional storytelling, or a contemporary take... if there's a story of good versus evil, with some fantastical elements thrown in I'm there for it. Yet, despite Oscar Wilde being one of the most famous writers of all time, I didn't realise he had a collection of fairy tales under his belt. So I'm delighted I had the chance to discover his stories with a brand-new hardback edition published by Duckworth Books. 

Tuesday, 29 November 2022

 

Book review: The Cornish Cream Tea Bookshop by Cressida McLaughlin [blog tour]


I've been in such a Christmas romance mood with my books lately (in fact, I've accumulated over ten new festive reads in the last month alone...) and Cressida McLaughlin's wonderful novels set in the picturesque, fictional village of Port Karadow always hit the spot for me. And none as much as the latest addition to her Cornish Cream Team series, which is all about a new book shop that has opened up in town. Combining a love of books with a festive setting, makes for the cosiest of reads to curl up with on a dark and cold afternoon (hot drink of choice optional, but very much recommended). 

Monday, 28 November 2022

 

Theatre review: Top Hat at The Mill at Sonning


Top Hat is an iconic Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers musical from the 1930s, featuring music and lyrics by the equally iconic Irving Berlin. Yet, despite its age and recognisable musical numbers, it was only turned into a stage production about 10 years ago in the UK. And after nationwide tour, the show had a short-lived but well-loved run in the West End, before going back on the road. I saw it twice during its stint in London and am thrilled the show is now back on stage for British audiences to enjoy. This time around it's playing at the Mill at Sonning, a dinner theatre near Reading. 

Monday, 21 November 2022

 

Book review: What's For Dessert by Claire Saffitz [blog tour]


Claire Saffitz is a prolific baker and self- proclaimed "dessert person". I first discovered her through the Gourmet Makes series on Bon Appetit's YouTube and have continued to follow her career as she launched her own very successful YouTube channel all about sweet and savoury bakes.

Monday, 7 November 2022

 

Book review: Thirteen Ways to Smell a Tree by David George Haskell [blog tour]


Trees line even the most urbanised of streets. Yet despite having them on our doorsteps, beyond appreciating the blossoms and coloured leaves as the seasons change, many people don't take much notice of them. And that's a real shame. Trees are vital to us, working hard to give us green spaces, oxygen, and a viable ecosystem for the many big and small organisms that keep our planet alive.

Monday, 24 October 2022

 

Book review: The Empire by Michael Ball [blog tour]


Michael Ball is a legendary British musical theatre performer. Well-known for originating the role of Marius in the London production of Les Miserables, playing the titular character in Sweeney Todd, and taking over the role of Raoul in The Phantom of the Opera, he's now turning his hand to writing. The question on everyone's mind, of course, is whether he is a quadruple threat (adding writing to his list of talents), or if he should stick to performing on a physical stage rather than creating one within the pages of his debut novel The Empire.