Monday 27 May 2024

 

Book review: Theatre of Glass and Shadows by Anne Corlett [blog tour]


I love fantastical novels that have a performative element to them, the Caraval series by Stephanie Garber being one of my all-time favourites. There's something about the combination of the heightened quality of the entertainment and the high stakes (often life-or-death) unfolding backstage that make for a thrilling reading experience that manages to be utterly unique and unexpected throughout. Theatre of Glass and Shadows by Anne Corlett is a prime example of why this combination of setting and storytelling work so well.  

Tuesday 14 May 2024

 

Book review: The Fellowship of Puzzlemakers by Samuel Burr [blog tour]


I've been in a bit of a reading funk this year, not many books truly gripping me in such a way that I cannot stop thinking about them and recommending them. But, The Fellowship of Puzzlemakers by debut author Samuel Burr is a huge exception. I adored this quirky literary novel from start to finish and cannot wait for lots more people to discover the charming tale of Clayton and the Fellowship! 

Friday 10 May 2024

 

Book review: Wild Treasures by Hannah Stitfall [blog tour]


After a cold and very wet winter, I'm sure I'm not the only one ready for spring and going out into nature again. The sun is tentatively peeking through the clouds and the garden is bursting into colour and birdsong, which is making me very excited to explore the countryside and see what other beautiful flora and fauna is making a reappearance. But while spring and summer are the most obvious seasons to find 'wild treasures', Hannah Stitfall's new book shows us there's wonderful wildlife to encounter in Britain every month of the year. 

Friday 19 April 2024

 

Book review: Death In Nonna's Kitchen by Alex Coombs [blog tour]


As an avid lover of whodunnits, I was thrilled to be introduced to Alex Coombs' Old Forge Café Mysteries last year. The first book in the series – Murder on the Menu – was a delight for both crime lovers and foodies alike as it encompasses the perfect blend of gripping mystery and scrumptious cooking desciptions. In the second novel, there's a little less recipe testing but a whole lot more murder....

Thursday 11 April 2024

 

Book review: Close to Death by Anthony Horowitz (Hawthorne Investigates #5)


I cannot get enough of Anthony Horowitz' brilliant crime novels. I already loved his young adult books, like Alex Rider and The Power of Five, growing up – but his murder mysteries from recent years really surpass my expectations time and time again. And the Hawthorne Investigates series – in which he places a fictionalised version of himself alongside private detective Daniel Hawthorne as an unlikely investigative duo – really is Sherlock Holmes for the 21st century  

Thursday 1 February 2024

 

Book review: Spell Bound (Phoebe Winchester #2) by Gretchen Rue


At the end of last year I randomly picked up a copy of Something Wicked by Gretchen Rue and it was everything I wanted from a witchy romcom. The story was set in a very quaint town (think Gilmore Girls' Stars Hollow), it had fabulous characters (which included a fluffy feline wringing its way into the protagonist's life), and an intriguing murder mystery to boot. The book screamed adorable and I was absolutely hooked. Needless to say, I was thrilled when I learned it was part of a series and the second novel would be out in the UK just a few months after I read the first.  

Wednesday 24 January 2024

 

A taste of Calcutta at Paro in Covent Garden


Nearly seven years ago I had the absolute pleasure to review City Spice in Brick Lane. It's still one of my favourite restaurants, and I make sure to take friends to it when they're visiting London. However, it's not very central and I'm not often in Brick Lane these days. So I am thrilled that its executive chef, Niaz Caan, has opened a brand-new Indian restaurant smack-down in the centre of town: Covent Garden. Paro officially opened its doors in October and it's already buzzing.

Thursday 18 January 2024

 

Book review: The Queen of Poisons (The Marlow Murder Club #3) by Robert Thorogood


It's only January and I've already read one of the best books of the year! The Queen of Poisons – the third instalment in Robert Thorogood's Marlow Murder Club series – was one of my most anticipated novels for 2024 and it didn't disappoint. Main characters Judith, Suzie, and Becks feel like old friends at this stage and I was so delighted to reunite with them for another riotous murder investigation. 

Thursday 4 January 2024

 

Book review: Return to Half Moon Farm by Holly Hepburn [blog tour]


I fell in love with Holly Hepburn's charming writing after reading The Little Shop of Hidden Treasures last year – and Return to Half Moon Farm has really cemented her as one of my favourite contemporary women's fiction authors. I am thrilled that I've got a few more of Holly's novels to catch up with as her books are the perfect blend of picturesque settings, gentle plot with a dash of drama, and a heart-fluttering romance that makes even the iciest of hearts swoon with delight. 

Thursday 14 December 2023

 

Book review: Murder All Inclusive by Alastair Puddick [blog tour]


What's more festive than a whodunnit set in the hot Spanish sun at an all-inclusive hotel?! Okay, it's maybe not the most Christmassy setting but I do love a dash of murder this time of year – and I was delighted to dive into a to me entirely new series with Murder All Inclusive by Alastair Puddick.