Thursday 11 April 2024

 

Book review: Close to Death by Anthony Horowitz (Hawthorne Investigates #5)


I cannot get enough of Anthony Horowitz' brilliant crime novels. I already loved his young adult books, like Alex Rider and The Power of Five, growing up – but his murder mysteries from recent years really surpass my expectations time and time again. And the Hawthorne Investigates series – in which he places a fictionalised version of himself alongside private detective Daniel Hawthorne as an unlikely investigative duo – really is Sherlock Holmes for the 21st century  

Thursday 1 February 2024

 

Book review: Spell Bound (Phoebe Winchester #2) by Gretchen Rue


At the end of last year I randomly picked up a copy of Something Wicked by Gretchen Rue and it was everything I wanted from a witchy romcom. The story was set in a very quaint town (think Gilmore Girls' Stars Hollow), it had fabulous characters (which included a fluffy feline wringing its way into the protagonist's life), and an intriguing murder mystery to boot. The book screamed adorable and I was absolutely hooked. Needless to say, I was thrilled when I learned it was part of a series and the second novel would be out in the UK just a few months after I read the first.  

Wednesday 24 January 2024

 

A taste of Calcutta at Paro in Covent Garden


Nearly seven years ago I had the absolute pleasure to review City Spice in Brick Lane. It's still one of my favourite restaurants, and I make sure to take friends to it when they're visiting London. However, it's not very central and I'm not often in Brick Lane these days. So I am thrilled that its executive chef, Niaz Caan, has opened a brand-new Indian restaurant smack-down in the centre of town: Covent Garden. Paro officially opened its doors in October and it's already buzzing.

Thursday 18 January 2024

 

Book review: The Queen of Poisons (The Marlow Murder Club #3) by Robert Thorogood


It's only January and I've already read one of the best books of the year! The Queen of Poisons – the third instalment in Robert Thorogood's Marlow Murder Club series – was one of my most anticipated novels for 2024 and it didn't disappoint. Main characters Judith, Suzie, and Becks feel like old friends at this stage and I was so delighted to reunite with them for another riotous murder investigation. 

Thursday 4 January 2024

 

Book review: Return to Half Moon Farm by Holly Hepburn [blog tour]


I fell in love with Holly Hepburn's charming writing after reading The Little Shop of Hidden Treasures last year – and Return to Half Moon Farm has really cemented her as one of my favourite contemporary women's fiction authors. I am thrilled that I've got a few more of Holly's novels to catch up with as her books are the perfect blend of picturesque settings, gentle plot with a dash of drama, and a heart-fluttering romance that makes even the iciest of hearts swoon with delight. 

Thursday 14 December 2023

 

Book review: Murder All Inclusive by Alastair Puddick [blog tour]


What's more festive than a whodunnit set in the hot Spanish sun at an all-inclusive hotel?! Okay, it's maybe not the most Christmassy setting but I do love a dash of murder this time of year – and I was delighted to dive into a to me entirely new series with Murder All Inclusive by Alastair Puddick. 

Friday 8 December 2023

 

Book review: Murder on the Menu by Alex Coombs [blog tour]


Murder mysteries seem to really be the popular genre of the last few years and I'm absolutely loving it. There are so many wonderful new authors I've discovered that are pro whodunnit writers, from Robert Thorogood to Janice Hallett, and Alex Coombs has quickly joined their ranks as one of my new favs!

Thursday 23 November 2023

 

Book review: Bookshops & Bonedust (Legends & Lattes #0.5) by Travis Baldree [blog tour]


I have to start by admitting that high fantasy isn't for me. I usually don't pick up a book if it's set on other planets, has big battle sequences, and centres on creatures with names I've never heard of before. But I met author Travis Baldree at MCM Comic Con last year – and not only was he the absolute loveliest human being, he also completely sold his first novel, Legends & Lattes, to me as it sounded so incredibly cosy. Needless to say, I picked up a copy of the book almost immediately after and I'd been anticipating the prequel, Bookshops & Bonedust, ever since I turned the final page on the first one. 

Wednesday 15 November 2023

 

Book review: Murder at Holly House by Denzil Meyrick [blog tour]


It's the season for murder mysteries! OK, I admit, I do love a good whodunnit any time of year, but nothing beats cosying up on a cold and dark evening with a gripping tale of killings, secrets, and red herrings. And Murder at Holly House by Denzil Meyrick hit the murderous spot just right. 

Friday 3 November 2023

 

Theatre review: The Time Traveller's Wife at the Apollo Theatre

Based on the book of the same name by Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveller's Wife at its core is the love story between Henry and Clare. The twist? Henry is a time traveller and Clare first meets him when she's still a child. In his own chronological timeline, however, Henry doesn't meet Clare until they're both in their 20s. Are you confused yet? Not only that, but Henry cannot control when he travels – making it very hard for him to live his life as he doesn't know when – and for how long – he is gone.