Wednesday, 14 April 2021

 

Book review: Together by Luke Adam Hawker with words by Marianne Laidlaw [blog tour]


This past year has been difficult for many reasons. Not in the least the loneliness and detachment many have felt by being being away from their friends and families for such a long time. This has been especially tough for elderly people and those living by themselves. Inspired by his grandfather, Luke Adam Hawker has taken this feeling of loneliness and created a heartfelt story through his beautiful drawings of an old man and his dog cut off from the world during a big storm.

Sunday, 4 April 2021

 

Book review: Sistersong by Lucy Holland [blog tour]


I adore a good piece of ancient fantasy, particularly reimaginings of classic myths, legends, fairy tales, and ballads that hero characters often sidelined in the original. Circe by Madeline Miller details the story of a minor character from The Odyssey and is one of my all-time favs. So when I saw Sistersong by Lucy Holland was likened to this incredible book, I was instantly sold. Based on The Two Sisters, an old British murder ballad from the mid-seventeenth century, it answers the question of what happened to the third sister who appears in some versions of the original tale.

Wednesday, 17 March 2021

 

Book review: The Littlest Library by Poppy Alexander [blog tour]


As a book fairy I love spreading the joy of books and reading. So I when I read about The Littlest Library, in which a woman does just that by setting up a cute little library inside of an old British telephone box, I was instantly sold. And the story within the pages of this book is just as charming as you expect it to be from the description and delightful cover. 

Tuesday, 23 February 2021

 

5 Things I’ve Learned From Creating My First Bullet Journal


I love lists, notebooks, arts and crafts, so it was only a matter of time I tried bullet journaling. This diary/planner/creative outlet is a great all-in-one place to keep track of habits, note down important dates, prioritise to-do lists, destress with doodling, and reflect on what's most important in your day-to-day life. I started my first bullet journal at the beginning of 2020 and it's been a real journey this past year. I've learned a lot of important things along the way, from the essential supply kit to discovering how a bullet journal can benefit me rather than feel like a daily chore. I hope my five learnings throughout this process will be helpful for anyone who is either already keeping a bullet journal – or thinking of starting one. 

Tuesday, 2 February 2021

 

Book review: Last One at the Party by Bethany Clift


Oh hello. 2020 was a strange one wasn't it? I lost my reading and blogging mojo amongst this tumultuous time, but after a refreshing break from everything I feel energised and motivated to dive back into this wonderful world. After all, it's brought me so much joy in the last 10+ years that this little happy corner of the Internet is exactly what I need as we go into another strange year. Today I'm thrilled to bring you a review of one of the most anticipated books of 2021 – Last One at the Party by Bethany Clift – and rightfully so, what a corker of a read. 

Thursday, 10 September 2020

 

Book review: The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman [blog tour]


Oh hello, it's been a while. It has been a crazy year, hasn't it? I hope you've gotten through it all OK. I lost my reading mojo during the first months of lockdown in the U.K., and while I've been reading up a storm again the last month or two, it's taken me until now to finally dust off my blog again. But for a very good reason. The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman (yes, the creator and presenter of Pointless), is the fastest selling adult crime debut since records began, and that after being published on the same day as nearly 600 other books during super Thursday last week. If that isn't a sign of a corking read, then I don't know what is. 

Friday, 6 March 2020

 

Les Enfants Terribles' United Queendom at Kensington Palace


Imagine you're in Kensington Palace on the day of King George II's birthday. If you're lucky, you may get an invite to the royal party, and enjoy the company of the likes of Queen Caroline of Ansbach and the king's mistress, Henrietta Howard, Countess of Suffolk. And just a few rooms away from the big feast there is the allure of joining a salon with artistic, literary, and political greats. It's rumoured Jonathan Swift might be the next guest of honour. Are you ready for the most decadent night of your life?!

Wednesday, 15 January 2020

 

10 Classics to Read on Cold Winter Nights


I do love a good book list, both to use as inspiration for my ever-growing literary wish list and to share my own recommendations. Following up from my 10 Cosy New Books to Read for Autumn, this time around I thought I'd do things a little differently. Rather than focusing on new books that are already likely to be spotlighted by other bloggers, reviewers, and magazines, I'm sharing some of my favourite classic novels – and the collectible editions that grace my shelves. They would make a beautiful addition to your own collection as well as thoughtful gifts to brighten up someone's day this time of year.

Wednesday, 18 December 2019

 

Papergang: Ohh Deer's Subscription Box for Stationery Lovers


Subscription boxes have been all the rage in 2019. Beauty products, books, tea, fresh produce... you name it and there is probably a weekly or monthly box you can subscribe to cater to all your needs. However, one that I thought had been sorely missing from the options was one for stationery lovers. Until Instagram read my brain and I got an ad for Papergang, the subscription box from paper company Ohh Deer – and I was sold.

Wednesday, 4 December 2019

 

The Christmas Countdown is on... Getting Festive & Heartfelt with Moonpig


Happy December! 🎄 I have some very festive posts planned for this month, so sit back with a freshly baked mince pie and a hot chocolate and get ready for seasonal fun and recommendations. While for most people November is tinsel-free, I've been spending the last few weeks wrapping gifts and writing Christmas cards while listening to Josh Groban's "Noël" (the best seasonal album of all time), exhausting Netflix's Christmas catalogue, and I even joined the team of personalised card and gifting company Moonpig for a full-on festive event (#invited). There was a real-life Santa, fun workshops, and the opportunity to pet a polar bear. My festive season may have peaked before the official start of December...