Wednesday, 9 June 2021

 

Book review: Tapestries of Life by Anne Sverdrup-Thygeson [blog tour]


The natural world is so fascinating but to the average person (myself included), a large part of its mysteries are hidden. The most magical yet tightly run ship happening just beyond my view, impacting everything that surrounds me – and allowing me to live the life I do. The most obscure animals, insects, fungi, and plants are all vital parts of the process, going unnoticed and unrecognised. Until now.

Thursday, 3 June 2021

 

Book review: Glass Coffin by Gabby Hutchinson Crouch [blog tour]


Retellings of fairy tales and myths are all the rage these days, and for good reason as they give readers a chance to see a different side to the often one-dimensional characters from the classic tales we grew up with. I've read some stonkin' reimaginings over the years, including Lost Boy by Christina Henry (telling the origin story of Peter Pan's arch rival Hook) and more recently Greek retelling Ariadne by Jennifer Saint, but I'm always keen to discover more of them. And when I heard about Glass Coffin by Gabby Hutchinson Crouch my interest was immediately peaked. 

Thursday, 27 May 2021

 

Book giveaway: The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle by Matt Cain


A few months ago I was part of the cover reveal for the beautiful The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle by Matt Cain. And today it is publication day, woohoo! To celebrate, I'm thrilled to be giving away  a stunning finished hardback copy of the book (not pictured! That is a photo of my 'proof' copy instead, but the cover will be the one you can see on the screen). Read on to find out more about this wonderful novel and how you can enter this giveaway...

Wednesday, 14 April 2021

 

Book review: Together by Luke Adam Hawker with words by Marianne Laidlaw [blog tour]


This past year has been difficult for many reasons. Not in the least the loneliness and detachment many have felt by being being away from their friends and families for such a long time. This has been especially tough for elderly people and those living by themselves. Inspired by his grandfather, Luke Adam Hawker has taken this feeling of loneliness and created a heartfelt story through his beautiful drawings of an old man and his dog cut off from the world during a big storm.

Sunday, 4 April 2021

 

Book review: Sistersong by Lucy Holland [blog tour]


I adore a good piece of ancient fantasy, particularly reimaginings of classic myths, legends, fairy tales, and ballads that hero characters often sidelined in the original. Circe by Madeline Miller details the story of a minor character from The Odyssey and is one of my all-time favs. So when I saw Sistersong by Lucy Holland was likened to this incredible book, I was instantly sold. Based on The Two Sisters, an old British murder ballad from the mid-seventeenth century, it answers the question of what happened to the third sister who appears in some versions of the original tale.

Wednesday, 17 March 2021

 

Book review: The Littlest Library by Poppy Alexander [blog tour]


As a book fairy I love spreading the joy of books and reading. So I when I read about The Littlest Library, in which a woman does just that by setting up a cute little library inside of an old British telephone box, I was instantly sold. And the story within the pages of this book is just as charming as you expect it to be from the description and delightful cover. 

Tuesday, 23 February 2021

 

5 Things I’ve Learned From Creating My First Bullet Journal


I love lists, notebooks, arts and crafts, so it was only a matter of time I tried bullet journaling. This diary/planner/creative outlet is a great all-in-one place to keep track of habits, note down important dates, prioritise to-do lists, destress with doodling, and reflect on what's most important in your day-to-day life. I started my first bullet journal at the beginning of 2020 and it's been a real journey this past year. I've learned a lot of important things along the way, from the essential supply kit to discovering how a bullet journal can benefit me rather than feel like a daily chore. I hope my five learnings throughout this process will be helpful for anyone who is either already keeping a bullet journal – or thinking of starting one. 

Tuesday, 2 February 2021

 

Book review: Last One at the Party by Bethany Clift


Oh hello. 2020 was a strange one wasn't it? I lost my reading and blogging mojo amongst this tumultuous time, but after a refreshing break from everything I feel energised and motivated to dive back into this wonderful world. After all, it's brought me so much joy in the last 10+ years that this little happy corner of the Internet is exactly what I need as we go into another strange year. Today I'm thrilled to bring you a review of one of the most anticipated books of 2021 – Last One at the Party by Bethany Clift – and rightfully so, what a corker of a read. 

Thursday, 10 September 2020

 

Book review: The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman [blog tour]


Oh hello, it's been a while. It has been a crazy year, hasn't it? I hope you've gotten through it all OK. I lost my reading mojo during the first months of lockdown in the U.K., and while I've been reading up a storm again the last month or two, it's taken me until now to finally dust off my blog again. But for a very good reason. The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman (yes, the creator and presenter of Pointless), is the fastest selling adult crime debut since records began, and that after being published on the same day as nearly 600 other books during super Thursday last week. If that isn't a sign of a corking read, then I don't know what is. 

Friday, 6 March 2020

 

Les Enfants Terribles' United Queendom at Kensington Palace


Imagine you're in Kensington Palace on the day of King George II's birthday. If you're lucky, you may get an invite to the royal party, and enjoy the company of the likes of Queen Caroline of Ansbach and the king's mistress, Henrietta Howard, Countess of Suffolk. And just a few rooms away from the big feast there is the allure of joining a salon with artistic, literary, and political greats. It's rumoured Jonathan Swift might be the next guest of honour. Are you ready for the most decadent night of your life?!