Friday, 5 July 2013

Book review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger


My edition: Paperback, published on 20 June 2013 by Harper, 417 pages.

Description: She's back ...and more devilish than ever.

Life has been good to Andy since she quit the job 'a million girls would die for' at Runway magazine. Now, ten years later, she's about to get married and she's running her own successful magazine.

But the night before her wedding, she can't sleep. Is it just normal nerves, or is she having serious second thoughts? And why can't she stop thinking about her ex-boss, Miranda – aka, the Devil?

It seems that Andy's efforts to build herself a bright new life have led her directly into the path of the Devil herself, bent on revenge...

Rating:



Ten years after Andrea Sachs left her job at Runway Magazine, and with it her devilish boss Miranda Priestley, her life seems perfect. She's engaged to the gorgeous and rich Max Harrison, of Harrison Media Holdings, and runs her own very successful high-end bridal magazine, The Plunge, with her best friend Emily Charlton (yes, the same Emily who often made her feel miserable in the first novel, The Devil Wears Prada).

But despite her successful career and the fact that she's quite fashionable herself nowadays, she's still the same old Andrea and she doesn't feel like she fits into Max and Emily's glitz and glamour world. Doubt starts to seep into Andy's mind the night before her wedding and with the fear for Miranda still lingering in the background she slowly sees her perfect life falling apart. Matters become even worse when Miranda starts to interfere with the one thing Andy is truly proud of, the magazine she has built from scratch, and once more she's has to choose between what is good for her career and what is good for herself...

I was so happy when I found out that after all these years there would be a sequel to The Devil Wears Prada! Admittedly it is the film I have seen more times than I can remember, but it's author Lauren Weisberger who created the fantastic characters that I had fallen so much in love with. I couldn't wait to read what would happen to them next, and I wasn't disappointed. Besides Andy, Emily and Miranda, even characters such as Alex, Max and Lily come back for the sequel.

The one thing readers should be aware of before picking up the novel is that this is much more the story of Andrea, or Andy as she's known nowadays, than Miranda Priestley. The blurb on the back cover does give the impression that 'the devil' will feature heavily, but for the majority of the story she just lingers in the background. And that is okay. I loved reading about Andy again and her now BFF Emily and see the kind of life the two had for themselves; they prove that there is in fact life after Runway.

Revenge Wears Prada is once more filled with descriptions of expensive outfits to covet and looks to aspire to. Sure, the clothes and accessories described are very much out of reach for the average reader, but just like people enjoy seeing the out-of-reach dream weddings in Andy and Emily's The Plunge, they also love reading about the glamorous and scandalous lives of the rich and famous and pretend that perhaps, one day, it will be them in those sky high Prada heels sipping champagne on Valentino's yacht.

And despite the to me somewhat unsatisfactory conclusion (I much prefer a happily every after, this is chick-lit after all!) Revenge Wears Prada is a wonderful read. The novel is a must-have for those who love reading about fabulous parties and even more fabulous clothes; perfect for fans of Gossip Girl (especially those that are still mourning the loss of their show!), Sex and the City, Jane By Design and of course, The Devil Wears Prada.

Order your copy now at Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.com, Waterstones or your own preferred retailer.



Would you like to know more about author Lauren Weisberger and/or let her know how much you love her books? You can find her online in the following places:

Website: laurenweisberger.com

Twitter: @LWeisberger

Facebook: facebook.com/lauren.weisberger

Follow on Bloglovin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share Button